Festool Owners Group

FESTOOL DISCUSSIONS => Festool Tool Problems => Topic started by: kasezilla on January 09, 2017, 09:57 PM

Title: Help Needed. I went Metric and my new 1400 came with Imperial
Post by: kasezilla on January 09, 2017, 09:57 PM
I purposely decided to fully embrace Metric and knowing that Festool has this by default was a big plus. Now I am dealing with Imperial as the default on my new router. How can I get this to be metric are there conversion kits? Many thanks for any assistance you could give me.
Title: Re: Help Needed. I went Metric and my new 1400 came with Imperial
Post by: Chris Wong on January 09, 2017, 11:20 PM
Call Festool. They can send you replacement metric scales.
Title: Re: Help Needed. I went Metric and my new 1400 came with Imperial
Post by: Birdhunter on January 10, 2017, 06:37 AM
A conversion chart on the wall is a good transition tool.
Title: Re: Help Needed. I went Metric and my new 1400 came with Imperial
Post by: kasezilla on January 10, 2017, 08:50 AM
Thanks I have sent them an email but I will try calling. I have been using a conversion chart. It's gonna take some time to get from thinking in Imperial and become fluent. Boy, it sure makes it easier to work, however.
Title: Re: Help Needed. I went Metric and my new 1400 came with Imperial
Post by: waterloomarc on January 10, 2017, 10:45 AM
I have an Amazon Echo in my shop. I can't tell you how many times a day I say "Alexa convert xyz inches to mm" Whatever government employee is assigned to monitoring my search activity must think I have the mind of a goldfish because I can't remember even the most basic metric conversions to save my life. Pretty ironic considering I spent my first 23 years in Canada under under metric and the last 15 down here...you'd think I'd be pretty well versed.

Anyway point of all that was I find Siri or other voice activated device (like my echo) much faster with conversions than stopping to look at a chart. I like that I don't have to take my hands off of or stop what I'm doing.
Title: Re: Help Needed. I went Metric and my new 1400 came with Imperial
Post by: SRSemenza on January 10, 2017, 10:57 AM
I have an Amazon Echo in my shop. I can't tell you how many times a day I say "Alexa convert xyz inches to mm" Whatever government employee is assigned to monitoring my search activity must think I have the mind of a goldfish because I can't remember even the most basic metric conversions to save my life. Pretty ironic considering I spent my first 23 years in Canada under under metric and the last 15 down here...you'd think I'd be pretty well versed.

Anyway point of all that was I find Siri or other voice activated device (like my echo) much faster with conversions than stopping to look at a chart. I like that I don't have to take my hands off of or stop what I'm doing.

That's a cool use for Echo!

Seth
Title: Re: Help Needed. I went Metric and my new 1400 came with Imperial
Post by: kasezilla on January 10, 2017, 12:27 PM
I have an Amazon Echo in my shop. I can't tell you how many times a day I say "Alexa convert xyz inches to mm" Whatever government employee is assigned to monitoring my search activity must think I have the mind of a goldfish because I can't remember even the most basic metric conversions to save my life. Pretty ironic considering I spent my first 23 years in Canada under under metric and the last 15 down here...you'd think I'd be pretty well versed.

Anyway point of all that was I find Siri or other voice activated device (like my echo) much faster with conversions than stopping to look at a chart. I like that I don't have to take my hands off of or stop what I'm doing.

That's a cool use for Echo!

Seth

Yeah that is a fantastic idea and I just got an echo for my shop so I am gonna be living in the future ;-)
Title: Re: Help Needed. I went Metric and my new 1400 came with Imperial
Post by: antss on January 10, 2017, 06:44 PM
Aren't there still Metric OF routers in the supply chain still ?

Shane at toolnut had some two weeks ago.