Having trouble with your Festool power tool? Well, we're here to help you. Before posting to the forum, give us a chance to diagnose and resolve your issue. In the U.S. and Canada, call us toll-free at 888-337-8600 on Monday-Friday between 8a-5p EST or contact us via email at service@festoolusa.com. For other countries, please visit http://www.festool.com for contact information for your local Festool service department.

Author Topic: New TS 55 REQ owner. It seems like there's something wrong with my saw.  (Read 16397 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Vanquish

  • Fifty
  • Posts: 54
You guys have a good point. Might as well go the amazon route I guess.

Since I don't have the Festool dust extractor, what's the simplest way to hook up vacuum to the saw with a different hose size, either 2 1/2" or 1 1/4"?  Do they make an adapter that fits other brands like Ridgid and Shop-Vac? I did a quick search, but there are a bunch of bits and pieces that came up and I'm not entirely sure what I'm looking at.  I saw one persons solution was duct tape, but that's kind of lame.  ::)

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline Jaybolishes

  • Posts: 337
I think the festool hose fits the ridgid vac perfectly if I'm not mistaken.  Sorry I don't have my ridged vac at home to verify.

 And no I wasn't joking Woodie.   I needed a rail for many applications in what I do.  Screwing it to walls to cut cedar shakes to install standing seam, cuting odd angles you can't rip freehand on a table saw.  Believe it or not cutting siding freehand is not easy to make straight lines, and when you're installing a $50,000 standing seam roof, it better look straight.   I used to always use my joiner anyway, like most people still do.  How much do table saws cost?  So maybe You wouldn't buy it, but I still would need it.  Now there's other track saws around, before, what else were you gonna buy? Honestly, I considered the amazing edge it leaves as a bonus.  I was always going from table saw to joiner.  If I initially bought it as a hobbiest, it wouldn't be as attractive of course, but I am a professional and you need the right tool for the job.  $600, cheap.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2014, 12:57 AM by Jaybolishes »

Offline Festool USA

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8232
    • Festool USA
You can probably find a graduated hose adapter at most home improvement or hardware stores to adapt your current vacuum to the saw.

Offline Vanquish

  • Fifty
  • Posts: 54
Just wanted to give a quick update. I ended up sending the saw back to Festool for repair. Because it was purchased from another store through Amazon and not directly from Amazon, it ended up being less of a hassle to just let the guys at Festool work on it. I've had the saw for a week now and it definitely cuts much better than before. :) I don't know what they did, but the 48T blade cuts well now. The 28T blade is a bit rougher than I would expect, but I guess that's just the nature of the blade. Interestingly though, the piece that gets cut off to the right of the blade is as smooth as glass. Overall though, I'm satisfied. This saw definitely makes my life easier.

I'm really pleased with the guys at Festool. I couldn't ask for better customer service. I even got a new free splinter guard for my rail when they sent my saw back. Thanks Shane and Lester for working with me to get this problem resolved.

I have my eye on the ETS 125 EQ now. Might have to pick one of those up soon. ;)   

Offline elimelech12

  • Posts: 376
Re: New TS 55 REQ owner. It seems like there's something wrong with my saw.
« Reply #34 on: February 08, 2014, 08:48 PM »
I just bought a TS55 REQ and like every other Festool saw that's been in my possession I figured it was ready to use out of the sys. I took it on site today to modify a piece of furniture for a co-worker. I raved for weeks about how good Festool works and clean edge it leaves. I was horrified when I saw the finished cut.  [eek] He was disappointed and so was I. Spent more time hand sanding the blade grooves out of the desk top than it took me to disassemble cut and reassemble; I only had 400grit. (I didn't bring my ets125 because figured I wouldn't need it.) I'm guessing something's not right so I'm calling service on Monday.

edit: BTW  my edge strip is all jacked up also
« Last Edit: February 08, 2014, 08:55 PM by elimelech12 »
Sold my tools but kept a few Fes-tools...just in case.

Offline Worm Drive

  • Posts: 128
Re: New TS 55 REQ owner. It seems like there's something wrong with my saw.
« Reply #35 on: February 09, 2014, 09:00 AM »
Did you adjust the gibs, prior to using? What blade did you use?

Offline elimelech12

  • Posts: 376
Re: New TS 55 REQ owner. It seems like there's something wrong with my saw.
« Reply #36 on: February 09, 2014, 09:44 AM »
It was tight on the rail for a perfect slide. I used the stock blade. I've had a 55eq, a 55req (prior to recall), and a 75 and never experienced a cut like this. Can't even use the rail until the strip is replaced. My saw was manufactured in 12/13...maybe the standards changed. Who knows?
Sold my tools but kept a few Fes-tools...just in case.

Offline Tim Raleigh

  • Posts: 3379
    • Oakville Cabinetry
Re: New TS 55 REQ owner. It seems like there's something wrong with my saw.
« Reply #37 on: February 09, 2014, 10:07 AM »
That cut looks horrible.
Reset the toe in and see if that improves the cut.
Tim

Offline jimmylittle

  • Posts: 114
    • JimmyLittle
Re: New TS 55 REQ owner. It seems like there's something wrong with my saw.
« Reply #38 on: February 09, 2014, 10:39 AM »
Agree - replace through Amazon.  I had to do this with my Kapex, and I filled out the form on the Amazon site on Friday and had my new saw on Monday afternoon.  I unpacked the new one, put the old one in the box, and gave it back to the UPS guy. No lost days (because of the weekend) and I had a new one.  And, you can continue to use the defective one in a pinch until the new one arrives.

I'm usually all for supporting the local businesses, but sometimes they little guy just doesn't have the inventory or resources to deal with exchanges of big ticket items.  My local Festool dealer, Kamco Lumber (in Brooklyn) has very little in the way of tool inventory.  Maybe one or two of each sander, a Domino or two, never more than one Kapex or TS, and no empty Systainers at all.  They are good for supplies (sanding discs, Dominos, bits, etc...) Amazon or a 45 minute drive are my only options.  Amazon has not failed me yet.
Using a good tool to do a good project for a good client makes me feel good.  Remove any of the three and things aren\'t so fun anymore.

Offline Worm Drive

  • Posts: 128
Re: New TS 55 REQ owner. It seems like there's something wrong with my saw.
« Reply #39 on: February 09, 2014, 01:20 PM »
Was the track clamped down?

Offline elimelech12

  • Posts: 376
Re: New TS 55 REQ owner. It seems like there's something wrong with my saw.
« Reply #40 on: February 09, 2014, 02:08 PM »
Was the track clamped down?

If you were asking me, yes it was clamped.
Sold my tools but kept a few Fes-tools...just in case.

Offline Vanquish

  • Fifty
  • Posts: 54
It was tight on the rail for a perfect slide. I used the stock blade. I've had a 55eq, a 55req (prior to recall), and a 75 and never experienced a cut like this. Can't even use the rail until the strip is replaced. My saw was manufactured in 12/13...maybe the standards changed. Who knows?

elimelech12, I just saw your original post and was wondering what the outcome was? Did you send the saw back and is it working properly now?

Offline elimelech12

  • Posts: 376
It was tight on the rail for a perfect slide. I used the stock blade. I've had a 55eq, a 55req (prior to recall), and a 75 and never experienced a cut like this. Can't even use the rail until the strip is replaced. My saw was manufactured in 12/13...maybe the standards changed. Who knows?

elimelech12, I just saw your original post and was wondering what the outcome was? Did you send the saw back and is it working properly now?

sorry for the late response. I sent my saw in and was sent a new one due to a small mix up. I wanted to try it on a project i had going but ran out of time with my move. Plus i just had hand and forearm surgery so it will be a while before i try it again. On a side note at Festool Connect i saw the TSC55 which now has a stop featured on the front to prevent such things. Doesn't seem backward compatible though.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2014, 09:17 PM by elimelech12 »
Sold my tools but kept a few Fes-tools...just in case.

Offline wow

  • Inactive Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3579
  • Official WalMart greeter to the FOG
Vanquish:

In case it wasn't mentioned, thanks for posting here. Although I am sorry that you had a problem, I appreciate the fact that you took time to post here with your concern, and to ask for help versus attempting to place blame.

I always learn something from problems, and am happy to know that Festool isn't perfect. Somehow it just makes me feel better, like they're also human?!
Trying to be one of the most helpful members on the FOG.

Offline Oso Rojo

  • Fifty
  • Posts: 91
Vanquish,
What was the outcome on the saw problem?

Offline Vanquish

  • Fifty
  • Posts: 54
Vanquish,
What was the outcome on the saw problem?

Hey Oso, sorry for the very late reply. I had forgotten all about this thread. So I ended up sending the saw back to Festool for repair and it cut a lot better when I got it back. Not perfect, but definitely good enough for what I was using it for back then.

Interestingly though, now that I've had it for about a year, at some point along the way the saw seems to have "broken in" and the cuts are near perfect now. I really can't tell the difference between cuts made on the TS 55 vs my table saw, so I'm very satisfied with the saw and the customer service I received.


 

Offline JimmyJames

  • Posts: 4
Hey guys, I recently purchased a TS 75. This is my first Festool product. I also noticed it was quite loud, with a vibration as well. Not nearly as smooth as my new DeWalt circ saw. At first I was scared to even use it, in case I needed to return it. I've since cut a walnut slab with it, but man, it is loud, and not a good tough, binford way. Is this really normal????

Offline Peter Halle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 10358
  • Let's Redux / Revive / Rewind / Rollback the FOG!
The FESTOOL saws "growl" and often users wonder about them.  Usually it has to do with the effects of the electronics controlling the motor speed.

It is something that most come to accept over time.

Peter
Scraps to Smiles.  To be continued.....  Stay Tuned.

Offline Edward A Reno III

  • Posts: 2737
Re: New TS 55 REQ owner. It seems like there's something wrong with my saw.
« Reply #48 on: February 03, 2017, 02:48 PM »
You could also double check on Youtube @JimmyJames for what the TS75 sounds like in operation to see if your sound is abnormal.  It does sound different (and sometimes louder) than other saws because of the electronic motor control.

Hey guys, I recently purchased a TS 75. This is my first Festool product. I also noticed it was quite loud, with a vibration as well. Not nearly as smooth as my new DeWalt circ saw. At first I was scared to even use it, in case I needed to return it. I've since cut a walnut slab with it, but man, it is loud, and not a good tough, binford way. Is this really normal????
Kapex KS 120 w/UG Cart and Extensions • CXS Set • T18+3 w/Centrotec Installer's Set • PDC 18/4 • TS 75 • TSC 55 • HKC 55 w/420 FSK rail • Carvex 420 w/Accessory Kit • Domino 500 Set • OF 2200 w/Base Accessory Kit • OF 1400 • OF 1010 • MFK 700 EQ Set • LR 32 • MFS 400 w/2000, 1000, and 700 extensions • Rotex 90 • Rotex 150 • LS 130 • ETS-EC 150/5 • ETS 150/3 • RTS 400 • RAS 115.04 • HL 850 • CT 26 w/Long-Life Bag • CT Sys w/Long-Life Bag • MFT/3

Offline ach_78

  • Fifty
  • Posts: 33
Re: New TS 55 REQ owner. It seems like there's something wrong with my saw.
« Reply #49 on: February 17, 2017, 11:10 AM »
It is a shame that defective tools return fixed from Festool service without at least a brief report of what the problem was and what has been corrected or replaced to fix the issue. Not only that would help understand but also, if it was my tool (my property), I would appreciate knowing what has been done to it.

From what I see it in the pictures it sure looks like a toe-in problem. These marks indicate an excessive toe-in. You can see pretty deep cuts from the blade teeth going upwards, which is the action of the blade at the front end of the saw.

A toe-out issue will burn the cut (rear of the blade rubbing against the cut) and/or some cut marks going in the downwards direction which is the action of the blade teeth at the rear of the saw.

I agree the TS55R feels uncredibly greety and not smooth at all but if it is running fine it does not show in the cuts