Festool Owners Group

FESTOOL DISCUSSIONS => Festool Tool Reviews => Topic started by: Peter Parfitt on November 28, 2011, 04:58 PM

Title: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Peter Parfitt on November 28, 2011, 04:58 PM
Hello Everyone

I have read some good stuff on the FOG about the OF 2200 router but wanted to do a video to share my experiences.

This is a powerful but gentle giant, accurate and easy to handle and is now my pride and joy.  Take a look at the video...

Festool OF 2200 Router Overview (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VdmCSv9xbnU#)

A written review will appear in the The Woodworker in about 6 weeks time.

Peter

[just corrected a typo]
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: mike metz on November 28, 2011, 09:50 PM
Very nice review Peter!

Now i want one even more, but im still going to hold out until the t-loc version is available here in the us.... i hope its soon!!!

Mike
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: GhostFist on November 28, 2011, 10:20 PM
another great video Peter! love to see the tools in action!
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Dave Reinhold on November 28, 2011, 10:47 PM
The OF2200 is a real beast.  I can't get over how smooth and graceful it is for such a large router.  Hopefully we will be getting the cms in the US soon and as soon as that day arrives the OF2200 will be coming home with me too..

Nice video Peter  [big grin]

Dave
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: ScotF on November 28, 2011, 10:54 PM
Nice review...it is my favorite Festool -- the smoothest operating power tool that I have ever used.  Extremely well balanced and powerful.  A must-have in my book.

Scot
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Steve Rowe on November 29, 2011, 08:19 AM
Nice review Peter.  I don't have the OF2200 (yet?) but it is quite true that I have much more tied up in router bits than I do the routers and I have nine of them.
Steve
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: meatman on November 29, 2011, 08:47 AM
As ever Peter, great review
It's just a shame you didn't really put it through it's paces, doing some fielded panels or using it to cut a 2" rebate in an old oak beam. This is the sort of stuff an OF2200 can do. [big grin]
Meatman
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Peter Parfitt on November 29, 2011, 09:04 AM
Dear Meatman

I was determined to squeeze the shots into a single video and so there were quite a few things that were not shown. I did some panel raising in the most stubborn piece of walnut - what that taught me most was that my (one and only) panel raising bit needs to be sharpened. I was really impressed by the way that the OF 2200 just kept going despite my duff cutter, knotty wood and my ambitious depth of cut.

The Festool cutter with the reversable and changeable blades was very impressive. I suspect that when the time comes I will be able to sharpen the blades myself.

Peter
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Tim Raleigh on November 29, 2011, 12:22 PM
Peter:
Thanks for the review.
The OF2200 is a beast but it's a beauty to handle and the accessories makes integrating with the other tools that much easier.
Tim
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Peter Parfitt on December 27, 2011, 03:35 PM
Thanks Tim.

I hope everyone has had a happy Christmas and that something Festool came down the chimney!!!

Peter
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: speed on December 27, 2011, 04:59 PM
nice review

unless i missed it you didn't mention that you can attatch the base to the router for fine adjustment when using a non plunging cutter
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Peter Parfitt on December 27, 2011, 05:37 PM
Thanks Speed - gosh if I got that bit right I could turn pro!

Peter
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: optimistisch on December 28, 2011, 10:37 AM
Peter,
it is a real pleasure to watch your video. It make your enthusiasm tangible using the OF 2200 and the accessories. I do agree that the router is a real beauty. Go ahead with your reviews.

Ingo
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Peter Parfitt on December 28, 2011, 01:51 PM
Peter,
it is a real pleasure to watch your video. It make your enthusiasm tangible using the OF 2200 and the accessories. I do agree that the router is a real beauty. Go ahead with your reviews.

Ingo

Ingo

Vielen Dank. Ich werde mein Bestes tun.
[Many thanks. I will do my best.]

Peter
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: honeydokreg on January 01, 2012, 07:52 PM
nice review... still deciding to buy or not... think I will
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Ken Nagrod on January 01, 2012, 11:31 PM
nice review... still deciding to buy or not... think I will

BUY IT!

Think of how many rows of beading per minute that baby will produce!  [big grin]
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Peter Parfitt on January 02, 2012, 01:19 AM
My wrists are a bit arthritic and I used to hate using my old routers. The worst bit was the jolt when starting up and then came the awkwardness of changing cutters. There was also the clouds of dust which do not go down well these days as I have turned part of my workshop into a photographic studio for video reviews and photographs for woodworking magazines.

Then along came the OF 2200 - my life has changed and I am doing more routing now than ever. The OF 2200 is smooth, easy to handle and powerful. There is very little dust; what escapes tends to be larger chips which do not float in the air and are easy to clean up. The accessory pack is excellent and changing cutters and accessories is a piece of cake.

Peter
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Tim Raleigh on January 02, 2012, 12:36 PM
nice review... still deciding to buy or not... think I will

I think they have a 30 day trial  [big grin] you could do a cabinet installs and make the doors in that time and still take it back if you don't like it...
Tim
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: jobsworth on February 05, 2012, 07:13 PM
Peter,
I am a little disappointed in your demonstration of theOF 2200.  As festool is a system I was really looking fwd to you showing how the festoool watch integrates with the OF 2200.
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: honeydokreg on February 05, 2012, 10:33 PM
Very nice review Peter!

Now i want one even more, but im still going to hold out until the t-loc version is available here in the us.... i hope its soon!!!

Mike

you gota go and buy it now as the t-loc is here... I just bought it 3 weeks ago from some online dealer i think his name was bob.... lol    and when you order make sure you say t-toc as they still have um around with out

enjoy
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: mike metz on February 06, 2012, 12:31 AM
Kreg,
I know this router is awesome!! i Actually was able to get it shortly after my post. Ive had it since the beginning of December. I did find that i really needed the accessory kit for alot of tasks, but found that the imperial version was still only available in the classic systainer, well long story short with the help of Sean from tool nut i have a "Modified" Imperial T-loc version on its way this week to me
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Peter Parfitt on February 06, 2012, 01:45 PM
Dear Mike and Others

The OF 2200 is a brilliant router. I thought that being so big it might not be able to cope with fine work - I was wrong. It is quite the opposite; its smooth startup and ease of handling are perfect, even for some fine work. What's more, it is easier to handle than my old Dewalt or CMT which are both much smaller.

I had an old travel clock that needed a new case. I wanted a small tray just big enough for 2 mugs of tea. The photo below shows what can be done with my lovely OF 2200. The clock is only 3 1/2 inches high.

Peter
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: woodguy7 on February 12, 2012, 01:22 PM
Hmm, i followed this thread thinking the 2200 would be a nice addition but expensive (what festool isn't) & decided to make do with my 1010 & 1400.  Well, routering yet another Oak staircase with the 1400 & it started making funny noises.  I guess i was expecting too much from the old girl, she has done a helluva lot.  After a quick inspection, brushes fine, armature goosed  [crying]  Going back to festool for repair this week & wouldn't you know it, 1 week over the 3 year warranty  [crying] [crying].  They said there was a slight chance they might just repair it under warranty anyway, but we will just have to wait & see.

Long story short, had to order the OF2200 set.  Normally not too bad but just bought the Dom XL & a Hammer spindle moulder  [sad]  could have done without this extra expense !  lucky my order book is still full.

Moral of the story, the OF1400 is a mid sized router & don't expect miracles from it !

Woodguy.
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Peter Parfitt on February 12, 2012, 04:08 PM
Good for you Woodguy. I am really pleased that your order book is full - you will love the OF 2200 and the DF700 Domino. They are both brilliant.

Peter
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Ken Nagrod on February 12, 2012, 04:14 PM
Hmm, i followed this thread thinking the 2200 would be a nice addition but expensive (what festool isn't) & decided to make do with my 1010 & 1400.  Well, routering yet another Oak staircase with the 1400 & it started making funny noises.  I guess i was expecting too much from the old girl, she has done a helluva lot.  After a quick inspection, brushes fine, armature goosed  [crying]  Going back to festool for repair this week & wouldn't you know it, 1 week over the 3 year warranty  [crying] [crying].  They said there was a slight chance they might just repair it under warranty anyway, but we will just have to wait & see.

Long story short, had to order the OF2200 set.  Normally not too bad but just bought the Dom XL & a Hammer spindle moulder  [sad]  could have done without this extra expense !  lucky my order book is still full.

Moral of the story, the OF1400 is a mid sized router & don't expect miracles from it !

Woodguy.

Alan,

Maybe an email of you with your new OF 2200 and a little note on loyalty and future purchases might be enough to persuade them to fix the OF 1400 free of charge.  I've done stuff like that with items from other companies and it worked.  Enjoy your new toytool!
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: woodguy7 on February 12, 2012, 04:21 PM
Ken

When I phoned TTS from the workshop I told the receptionist I didn't have the paperwork in front of me & she said it was OK, she could look it up.  The first thing she said was, my your got a lot of tools  [big grin]. Hopefully they will see my loyalty & overlook the out of date warranty  [blink]
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Ken Nagrod on February 12, 2012, 04:34 PM
Ken

When I phoned TTS from the workshop I told the receptionist I didn't have the paperwork in front of me & she said it was OK, she could look it up.  The first thing she said was, my your got a lot of tools  [big grin]. Hopefully they will see my loyalty & overlook the out of date warranty  [blink]

Hopefully they don't read your posts too!   [big grin] [big grin]
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: woodguy7 on February 21, 2012, 01:17 PM
Off topic but just a quick update.  I got my OF1400 back from TTS today.  Fully repaired with all new parts including armature & lots of bearings.  No sign of a bill with it so I can only assume they fixed it free of charge even though it was out of warranty [big grin]
I know TTS is not perfect by any means but on the few occasions I have sent stuff back they have exceeded my expectations.
Credit where credit is due.

In saying that, my Carvex is not back yet so I wait in anticipation to see if it is better.

Woodguy.

P.S - my OF2200 not arrived yet so will give my thoughts on that when it arrives.
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: bellchippy on February 21, 2012, 01:41 PM
You will love the 2200, it's the best router ever.
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Guy Ashley on February 21, 2012, 01:49 PM
Off topic but just a quick update.  I got my OF1400 back from TTS today.  Fully repaired with all new parts including armature & lots of bearings.  No sign of a bill with it so I can only assume they fixed it free of charge even though it was out of warranty [big grin]
I know TTS is not perfect by any means but on the few occasions I have sent stuff back they have exceeded my expectations.
Credit where credit is due.

In saying that, my Carvex is not back yet so I wait in anticipation to see if it is better.

Woodguy.

P.S - my OF2200 not arrived yet so will give my thoughts on that when it arrives.

That arrives tomorrow with your OF2200!![attachimg=#]
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Lbob131 on October 30, 2012, 02:49 PM
Is it true  that if the  spindle lock button is  pressed   accidentally  whilst the machine is running  that the  OF2200  can  self destruct?

I have a Metabo  angle grinder  and its easy  to press  the locking  mechanism  but its impossible to engage  and just makes  rasping noise.
Though its  probably  causing  considerable wear  to the  end of the locking pin!
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Timtool on October 30, 2012, 03:20 PM
very unlikely, it spins too fast for the lock to engage. I pressed the lock on the domino occasionally and besides a nasty noise nothing happings.
like trying to put a car in reverse while it's still advancing
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: jonny round boy on November 03, 2012, 09:37 AM
I don't know about the OF2200, but the OF1400 has a mechanical interlock, so it's impossible to press the spindle lock rocker in whilst the switch is depressed.

I discovered this when I was using mine in a table, switching it on/off with the vac. Then took it out to change the bit, and couldn't figure out why I couldn't press the rocker. Took me about 5 frustating minutes to realise the switch was still locked on...

i would imagine the OF2200 has a similar arrangement.
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Peter Halle on November 03, 2012, 09:51 AM
I don't know about the OF2200, but the OF1400 has a mechanical interlock, so it's impossible to press the spindle lock rocker in whilst the switch is depressed.

I discovered this when I was using mine in a table, switching it on/off with the vac. Then took it out to change the bit, and couldn't figure out why I couldn't press the rocker. Took me about 5 frustating minutes to realise the switch was still locked on...

i would imagine the OF2200 has a similar arrangement.

That just happened to me the other day!  I guess that this will come up more when as the CMS user population grows on this side of the pound, because as you said, using it in the locked position in a table would be the most frequent use of a locked trigger.

Peter
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Vi_k on December 31, 2012, 09:36 PM
Great video review Peter! Thanks for taking the time to put these together, they are super helpful!  [not worthy]

I love the way the motor sounds on this router, reminds me of the first time I heard a Lambourghini!  [big grin]

Have a good one,  [smile]

Vi_k
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: RedDog on April 29, 2013, 09:15 PM
Peter great video thanks. Got a 2200 today. Can't wait to use it.
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: PreferrablyWood on November 22, 2015, 04:09 AM
I enjoyed the OF 2200 videos Peter @Peter Parfitt   thank you very much.

I'm fishing for more video on the OF 2200

Festool has a couple product videos, Half Inch Shy made a comparison with the OF 1400 video

I wonder if anyone knows of any other good video on the OF 2200.

Working with the MFS, using it to cut out arcs, working with thicker stock and templates..

I speculate that the OF 2200 weight and initial cost of ownership keeps it out of the hands of more creative type users, the OF 2200 seems like more of an industrial grade production tool..

I have the OF 1010 and will use it for light duties, like edge treatment, shallower dados on drawers and shelving dovetails etc..

So seeing more video on this monster router would help me to decide if I should invest in it.

The shopping cart I'm  making has the OF 2200 Set, the MFS 400 and MFS 1000 extensions.. I'll need a 36mm hose.. and a few cutters one for trammel/template and a bevelling bit 30° and 45°. Big round over bit, I think for trimming laminate I'll use the OF 1010. This might be a Christmas Birthday gift to myself..

My plan is to not use in a table.. I might eventually get the CMS but maybe there is a smarter alternative table for shop use  only in my future..

Sorry about the rambling nature of the post mostly looking for video examples with OF 2200 in handheld use though..
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Peter Parfitt on November 22, 2015, 06:44 AM
Hi @PreferrablyWood

Your post made me search out the video material that I had made featuring the OF2200. I lost a bunch of original video files about 3 years ago (which made me sort out my IT somewhat) and can only have that one finished video on YouTube - I feel that my work has improved a bit since then ! My OF2200 is now in my CMS-OF as I have the OF1400 for the power side of hand routing and, like you, the sweet little (but really capable) OF1010 for the smaller stuff.

If you do your search from within YouTube or get Google to return just the video results may help your search.

There are a lot of FOGgers who have a vast amount of OF2200 experience and those seeing your post may be able to help you.

Good luck.

Peter
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Brice Burrell on November 22, 2015, 08:13 AM
I don't have much in the way of video but I'd offer this advice, think carefully about your needs.  As you mentioned the 2200 is an industrial grade production tool, and it is priced as such.  There are far too many people here on the FOG would have you believe the average user needs the 2200.  I'm sure these people very rarely or more than likely, never actually have a need for a router as powerful as the 2200.  I intend no offense to these guys, however, they are tool collectors and/or have disposable income that allows them to indulge in tools to fit wants more than real needs.

I'm not trying to talk you out of getting the 2200 because it is arguably the best router on the market.  Still, the OF1400 is a very capable router that will probably fit your needs and budget better.  Also, I wouldn't rule out other brand routers that could work well for you at a much lower price.  Good luck.     
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Lbob131 on November 22, 2015, 08:41 AM
With a 2200   you get a spindle  moulder, shaper  and router all in one  machine.  ;D
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: PreferrablyWood on November 22, 2015, 08:47 AM
Hi @PreferrablyWood

Your post made me search out the video material that I had made featuring the OF2200. I lost a bunch of original video files about 3 years ago (which made me sort out my IT somewhat) and can only have that one finished video on YouTube - I feel that my work has improved a bit since then ! My OF2200 is now in my CMS-OF as I have the OF1400 for the power side of hand routing and, like you, the sweet little (but really capable) OF1010 for the smaller stuff.

If you do your search from within YouTube or get Google to return just the video results may help your search.

There are a lot of FOGgers who have a vast amount of OF2200 experience and those seeing your post may be able to help you.

Good luck.

Peter

Thank you Peter! I'll keep looking, I suspect though, that users that do video tutorials of the OF 2200 are few and far between. It's just not in the hands of that many people, private owners that want to share usage examples..
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: PreferrablyWood on November 22, 2015, 08:56 AM
I don't have much in the way of video but I'd offer this advice, think carefully about your needs.  As you mentioned the 2200 is an industrial grade production tool, and it is priced as such.  There are far too many people here on the FOG would have you believe the average user needs the 2200.  I'm sure these people very rarely or more than likely, never actually have a need for a router as powerful as the 2200.  I intend no offense to these guys, however, they are tool collectors and/or have disposable income that allows them to indulge in tools to fit wants more than real needs.

I'm not trying to talk you out of getting the 2200 because it is arguably the best router on the market.  Still, the OF1400 is a very capable router that will probably fit your needs and budget better.  Also, I wouldn't rule out other brand routers that could work well for you at a much lower price.  Good luck.     

I think you are probably right Brice. I'm without a shop at present so I speculate and am slowly building up my tool arsenal. I have paid jobs that on occasion require some building work so investment in good tools is covered in part by real usage. No need to fret about the budget so much under these conditions. A pure home hobbyist doesn't have coverage for investment in the same way..

What attracts me to the OF 2200 is the chameleon aspect of it's capabilities. With the different bases, being able to use it as a jointer, being able to use it as a surface planer.. But it's big and heavy though so for some types of work, something like the OF 1400 would be preferred, Looking at my OF 1010 on the other hand, well it's just too light for some things.. Almost forced to have three machines to do the range of possible routing jobs in a size optimised way...

The other thing of course is the budget for bits/cutters if the router is too expensive, there isn't any left money for bits in the budget..
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: PreferrablyWood on November 22, 2015, 09:00 AM
With a 2200   you get a spindle  moulder, shaper  and router all in one  machine.  ;D

That is the really interesting aspect, that it's a multitalent. I'll likely never get  spindle moulder, or shaper separately


Thanks
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: PreferrablyWood on November 23, 2015, 06:11 PM
Well got the OF 2200, af few bits, the MFS 400 and MFS extension 1000mm pieces in a cart from my fav dealer.. It will probably end up being bought. I'll be waiting a couple of months to see how my very heavy workload with my 5 permanent Maintenance jobs plus extras using festools works for me. I need to be more efficient, deal with building up my skill sets and health capabilities. If things work out for I'll easily be able to finance my festool tool purchases. I'm feeling that I have pretty much what I need toolwise soon. I  to come up with some designs for outdoor furniture shelving units cabinets, children play area enhancements. I'm surrounded by kids, there's some sort of a baby boom going on it seem. So good design with straightforward building techniques  and time to carry them off to fill out the picture.. Materials are plentiful at maintenance here  so having tools being bought out right means the only thing I'm missing is a cheap workspace, and I can get down to producing.. The OF 2200 is an ultimate wood forming tool..
Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Kev on November 23, 2015, 11:11 PM
With a 2200   you get a spindle  moulder, shaper  and router all in one  machine.  ;D

That is the really interesting aspect, that it's a multitalent. I'll likely never get  spindle moulder, or shaper separately


Thanks

I think that's stretching reality a little [wink]

A serious spindle moulder suits production work far more that a router in a table. The ability with most decent spindle moulders to incorporate power feeders is a major benefit and a safety feature.

I'm a listed naffed off that the Hammer saw/spindle moulder combos don't have a user interchangeable head to allow you to switch between a spindle head or a half collet inch router head (your factory order choice is what you end up with).

Title: Re: Festool OF 2200 Router Video Overview
Post by: Bohdan on November 24, 2015, 04:52 AM

A serious spindle moulder suits production work far more that a router in a table. The ability with most decent spindle moulders to incorporate power feeders is a major benefit and a safety feature.


I have fitted a power feed to my Basis (CMS) table and use it for both the router and the saw module.

It just fitted with an outboard mounting block for two bolts and two bolts into a reinforcing bar in one of the grooves that are used to assemble the table.

I find that it makes a great jointer with a long 1" cutter. I used it to run up some custom door and window frames and you could actually hear the router working for the first time. It enables me to use back cutting to limit chipping on difficult timbers.