Festool Owners Group

FESTOOL DISCUSSIONS => Festool Tool Reviews => Topic started by: Welshdog on March 06, 2018, 07:28 PM

Title: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: Welshdog on March 06, 2018, 07:28 PM
I got my new and definitely improved CT hose garage for my 26E today. Here are some pics and the story.

My original garage, like most, was cracked and broken in a several places. Thought briefly about laying up some fiberglass and epoxy to reinforce it, but got lazy and thought better of it.  Glad I did because this new one is way better than anything I could have kluged together. 

Look through the pics and you'll first see that the box arrived very mangled - I was sure the new part was destroyed.  Testimony to how much this new piece is better made, it was completely unscathed.  In fact, the two front lower corners (which are sort of sharp) had pierced through the box and were dragging around in the UPS man's truck it seems.  Again, none the worse for the wear.  I would suggest to The Toolnut / FestoolProducts.com that they ship in a more substantial box.
[attach=1]

You can plainly see that the new part is heavily reinforced compared to the old one.  There are cross pieces underneath the entire top portion.  The plastic seems to be tough with a bit of flex in it.  Not at all brittle feeling like the original.  The front lip next to the hose channel feels pretty sturdy as a grab handle, but I'm sure that is still not it's intended use - be careful pulling the vac around this way.

[attach=2][attach=3]
[attach=4]
[attach=5][attach=6][attach=7][attach=8][attach=9]

Removal of the old garage was easy using my Toolie.  Those are some pretty odd, very long screws there.  When replacing the screws I turned them backwards first until I found the thread start point so as not to ream out the plastic in the base unnecessarily. Take care when tightening as these screws don't need to be torqued down much at all.
[attach=10][attach=11][attach=12]

Systainers of both flavors fit well and lock down tight. See pics.  I have one issue with the back left clip used for the old style Systainers.  I made a comparison pic so you can see what is happening.  The left image shows the clip looking sort of angled or twisted.  If I flip the clip back so it can receive a Systainer, it in fact does sort of pop out of it's channel and twists.  If I push my thumb against the base of the clip as I am flipping it outwards, I can get it to properly seat and go into the receiving position.  This not a huge deal for me since I don't put Systainers on my vac all that often.  It is, however, some sort of molding error and everyone should watch out for this in case it's not limited to just my garage.
[attach=13][attach=14][attach=15]

I would say this is a very worthwhile purchase for anyone with a broken garage.  It is improved in almost every way and is priced right.  Go for it.

Jeff
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: Shane Holland on March 06, 2018, 07:31 PM
Nice review! Definitely an improvement that should help with durability. [thumbs up]

If anyone's looking to replace theirs, we have the new more robust T-LOC hose garages (https://www.festoolproducts.com/festool-204040-replacement-t-loc-hose-garage-hood-for-ct-26-36-48-dust-extractors.html) in stock.
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: ghjaxman on March 06, 2018, 09:10 PM
I need this for my old CT-22 and midi. My shattered years ago, too brital.
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: cpw on March 06, 2018, 09:40 PM
Does the extra webbing and reinforcement affect the fit of the hose on top at all?  With a D36 hose that came with the workshop cleaning kit it's a bit tighter than the original D27 on my CT 26 that doesn't have the updated garage, but still fits.  Just want to make sure if I do change it out that I'm not going to regret it.
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: TinyShop on March 06, 2018, 09:54 PM
The new one certainly looks smaller (and with a smaller "mouth" for the hose to feed into). 
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: Welshdog on March 06, 2018, 10:26 PM
Does the extra webbing and reinforcement affect the fit of the hose on top at all?  With a D36 hose that came with the workshop cleaning kit it's a bit tighter than the original D27 on my CT 26 that doesn't have the updated garage, but still fits.  Just want to make sure if I do change it out that I'm not going to regret it.

I went out and jammed a 36mm hose into the garage.  Is this how you do it?  It is very tight.

[attach=1]
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: ear3 on March 07, 2018, 08:57 AM
I just replaced my hosing garage a month or so ago.  Looks like I will have to wait a couple of seasons till it (inevitably) cracks to upgrade to the new one.  Kind of surprising though that they cut down a bit on the room for the hose.
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: SRSemenza on March 07, 2018, 09:58 AM
I just replaced my hosing garage a month or so ago.  Looks like I will have to wait a couple of seasons till it (inevitably) cracks to upgrade to the new one.  Kind of surprising though that they cut down a bit on the room for the hose.

Probably would have needed to make the over all size bigger to not cut down on the interior space. Also this comes along at the same time as the new hoses. The new hoses will be much easier to jam in.

Seth
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: McNally Family on March 07, 2018, 10:26 PM
I just replaced my hosing garage a month or so ago.  Looks like I will have to wait a couple of seasons till it (inevitably) cracks to upgrade to the new one.  Kind of surprising though that they cut down a bit on the room for the hose.

Did the 36mm hose ever fit easily into the top of a CT?  All I ever had in mine was the 27mm.
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: Knight Woodworks on March 08, 2018, 08:43 AM
Not in a Midi, IDK about the larger CTs.

John
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: CBRacerX on March 23, 2018, 07:33 AM
Nice review! Definitely an improvement that should help with durability. [thumbs up]

If anyone's looking to replace theirs, we have the new more robust T-LOC hose garages (https://www.festoolproducts.com/festool-204040-replacement-t-loc-hose-garage-hood-for-ct-26-36-48-dust-extractors.html) in stock.

Broken link here - I went to see if the Mini had an update available.
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: mcooley on March 23, 2018, 09:26 AM
My CT 26 cracked where the hose enters the front of the hose garage. The replacement is reinforced at that point with a metal steel bracket.

m
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: Shane Holland on March 23, 2018, 09:31 AM
@CBRacerX, thanks for the heads up. It was accidentally turned off on the website. It's back and ready to order. Sorry about that.  [embarassed]
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: Don T on March 23, 2018, 11:17 AM
Dang I thought the new hose garage was only for the newer CT’s. I just purchased a replacement for my broken one on my CT33. I guess that will need to go on the CT22 and get the new style for the CT33.
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: CBRacerX on March 23, 2018, 02:04 PM
@CBRacerX, thanks for the heads up. It was accidentally turned off on the website. It's back and ready to order. Sorry about that.  [embarassed]

Thanks, it does not appear that the Mini or Midi has an upgrade path...
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: Shane Holland on March 23, 2018, 02:06 PM
Thanks, it does not appear that the Mini or Midi has an upgrade path...

@CBRacerX, here's a link to the hose garage for the MINI/MIDI (https://www.festoolproducts.com/festool-500118-replacement-hose-garage-hood-for-ct-mini-midi-dust-extractors.html).
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: CrazyLarry on March 23, 2018, 04:36 PM
I'm sorry I can't let this slide... 2/10

This is NOT an improvement it is a case of fixing something that Festool BROKE through the introduction of the T-Loc without adequate  testing, rigor or good engineering.

So no they deserve NO credit just a shrug of about time and to be blunt they should also be sending a FREE one to every p*ssed of owner of a CT!!!

I for example am on Top #4 and that's with epoxying large reinforcements to the underside of the last 2...
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: Frank-Jan on March 23, 2018, 05:02 PM
I don't think the introduction of the T-loc has anything to do with it, just the quality of the hose garage. I am on number 3. (I only had 2 for my ct22, but I just stopped replacing after number 2 broke. (it was an add on for the ct22, not part of it, like on the ctl26).

I was thinking of modifying my ctl 26 with parts from the HD version when the current hose garage would break, but I think I'll give the new T-loc version a try.

I also plan on getting an AC version, and I will go for the HD version for that one. (they come with the smooth hose now aswell) (I prefer having a flat surface to temporarily put stuff down on)
Title: Re: Improved CT Hose Garage T-Lock
Post by: demographic on April 20, 2019, 06:56 AM
I just recieved my new T loc hose garage this morning, I'll be fitting it over the weekend but have already noticed that its made out of ABS, not exactly the toughest plastic available.
I'll be keeping a very close eye on how long ot lasts because the first one (old style) didn't last well at all and if it fails I'll be having to use words like "Not of merchantable quality".

I wouldn't normally be so ready to be on a companies case but as the old one was woefully inadequate so I'm kind of primed for it.

If it were glass reinforced nylon I'd be far more confident.
I understand that it causes far more wear on the molds but other manufactures manage it and still don't charge an arm and a leg.

I'll see how it comes on and report back if there's problems.