Festool Owners Group

FESTOOL DISCUSSIONS => Festool Tool Reviews => Topic started by: Peter Parfitt on November 14, 2011, 07:47 AM

Title: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: Peter Parfitt on November 14, 2011, 07:47 AM
Hello Everyone

It is raining here in England and so we all need cheering up. So, try this...

Festool - a film to watch (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_45zl-29TH0#)

This is dedicated to Stephan Hoffmeyer and I acknowledge the pioneering work in this revue genre by Paul Marcel.

I have put a close-up picture below.

Peter
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: pugilato on November 14, 2011, 08:39 AM
Brilliant!  Give the man a prize...
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: Jeff Scott on November 14, 2011, 08:47 AM
Lol! Very clever.
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: GhostFist on November 14, 2011, 09:24 AM
haha come on Peter, where's your television deal? you're a natural. loved the whole domino cross stop bit.
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: mattfc on November 14, 2011, 09:25 AM
haha that was funny!
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: RL on November 14, 2011, 09:43 AM
:)
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: RonMiller on November 14, 2011, 11:22 AM
I love British humour! hilarious. Tx!
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: fritter63 on November 14, 2011, 11:23 AM
When will the imperial version be available?.....

Seriously, Festool should make their own version of "New Yankee Workshop" to promote the system. I'll bet they'd sell a lot more festools. In that case, I'd vote for ya to be the host (Even though others have been positioning themselves for such hopes!).
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: pugilato on November 14, 2011, 11:25 AM
i can do the spanish version... there's a very large, possibly untapped market, out there.
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: ScotF on November 14, 2011, 11:59 AM
 [big grin] [thumbs up]

Scot
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: Steve Rowe on November 14, 2011, 12:38 PM
I wonder why they didn't name it the "Timex"? [big grin]
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: rookie08 on November 14, 2011, 01:20 PM
Funny!  [big grin]
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: Peter Parfitt on November 14, 2011, 01:23 PM
When will the imperial version be available?.....

Seriously, Festool should make their own version of "New Yankee Workshop" to promote the system. I'll bet they'd sell a lot more festools. In that case, I'd vote for ya to be the host (Even though others have been positioning themselves for such hopes!).

Everyone has been so very kind - thank you all. I am taking a look to see if I have a plaid shirt. I already have 'these safety glasses'.

I am game to do something like that if there was enough demand and I would not let Festool down. I have a suitable workshop, slightly smaller than Norm's but once I get rid of the 300 pounds of apples and some other rubbish it would be good to go.

Thanks again.

Peter
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: Festoolfootstool on November 14, 2011, 02:28 PM
I wonder why they didn't name it the "Timex"? [big grin]


Very good [big grin]
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: meatman on November 14, 2011, 03:50 PM
Fantastic film your a natural
Have any of your tools been used, as the all look band new.
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: pugilato on November 14, 2011, 04:21 PM
Have any of your tools been used, as the all look band new.

ouch!
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: Frank Pellow on November 14, 2011, 04:25 PM
 [popcorn] [thumbs up]
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: Peter Parfitt on November 14, 2011, 04:25 PM
Fantastic film your a natural
Have any of your tools been used, as the all look band new.

I sold all of my heavy woodworking machinery over the last 12 months or so and have replaced them with Festool kit. My big table saw has been replaced by the TS 55, some guide rails and a pair of folding trestles that were the last thing that I made with my old stationary mortice machine before I bought my Domino DF 500. The Lamello has also gone and that too has been replaced by the Doimino. The radial arm saw was replaced by the MFT 3 (with the TS 55 (which I had by now bought). My drawer full of sanders have been replaced by the one and only Rotex 90...and so it goes on. Oh, my Seiko Bellmatic has now been put in a drawer as I favour my new Festool watch in the workshop. My first watch was a Smiths Astral which, when it went wrong, I took apart and repaired - in those days it was easy to buy a main spring for a watch!

So to address your comment, yes the tools all look new because nothing is over 12 months old. But the real reason that they look so good is that my 33 years of Army training has taught me to look after my kit and nothing gets left out over night or put away dirty.

Thanks for looking in on this.

Peter

Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: meatman on November 14, 2011, 05:16 PM
Hi Peter great rebuff.
I too had to sell all my old kit last year due to recession.
I became my local dealers best friend last year when I bought nearly everything in the festool range.
Run out of money now, but really need Domino XL700
All the best
Meatman
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: skunkeye on November 14, 2011, 07:10 PM
Dust extraction is key for me, so I'm going to wait for the design to mature before purchasing.

Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: honeydokreg on November 14, 2011, 07:55 PM
peter,  thanks that was funny,,, maybe the next benny hill !!!
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: John Stevens on November 14, 2011, 10:07 PM
Very funny!  And a pretty nice looking watch, too.  I don't own a dress watch (yet), but if I could buy one of those w/o the Rotex drawing on the face, I'd buy it as a dress watch.

Regards,

John
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: RonWen on November 14, 2011, 11:13 PM
 [big grin]  [big grin]  [big grin]  [big grin]
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: Garry on November 28, 2011, 11:53 PM
of course, I had the original "analog" version that lacked a plugit cord, or replaceable straps.  It's ok, though, I sold it on ebay for WELL more than I paid for it ($0)
 [smile]
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: jobsworth on November 29, 2011, 10:55 AM
peter,

Your awesome dood. That cracked me up. I to am in the process of redefining my wood working. Im thinking hard about getting rid of my floor model TS and geting a bench top. I have replaced my work benches with 2 MFTs and Im going to get rid of my porter cable 690 and get a 1010. My router table is going away and Im going to build one that sets in between the MFTs the same dimensions of the Kapex MFT. So I willl have a complete mobile work shop.

But the watch video, was hilarious. I think you forgot one very importsnt attribute of your Festool Multi Funtional Watch (MFW). That you can use the hour and minute marks to set the Kapex's angles with :>) 
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: Nirvanabartez on January 25, 2012, 03:31 AM
Very good [smile]
Title: Re: Review of the very latest 'must-have' from Festool
Post by: adubeau on January 29, 2012, 10:38 AM
That was awesome..... I got a great laugh from it...