Festool Owners Group

FESTOOL DISCUSSIONS => Festool Tool Reviews => Topic started by: denovich on January 20, 2012, 04:29 PM

Title: RO90DX included sandpaper assortment and an observation
Post by: denovich on January 20, 2012, 04:29 PM
I received my first Rotex sander today... the RO90DX.  Even after watching or reading every review or demo I could find, my expectations were still not appropriately high enough to avoid being surprised by the capabilities of this sander.  I'm mightily impressed. 

Something I somehow missed in all those reviews was the ample supply of sandpaper provided with the unit.  5 sheets of Granat in 4 different grits as well as 5 sheets of Saphir for the triangular pad.  In addition to 23 sheets of Granat plus 2 Viles pads for the circular pad.  If I hadn't been sold on the Granat paper already (I have a Systainer full of it on it's way from Tom Bellemare at Tool Home) I would be now.  Amazingly clog free after chewing through some old finish.   Well done Festool for selling a tool, ready to use and impress by supplying the needed sandpaper in the box.

I've also never seen it mentioned that Festool Granat abrasives smell pleasantly of new carpet.  So maybe this micro-review will actually add something new to the discussion. 

One problem with the 90DX:  I can hardly wait to get my hands on an RO150 to see what it can do.
Title: Re: RO90DX included sandpaper assortment and an observation
Post by: Kev on January 20, 2012, 08:20 PM
Yeh - despite having an ETS150/5, after buying the RO 90 I lasted only a few weeks before I got the RO 150 ...
Title: Re: RO90DX included sandpaper assortment and an observation
Post by: live4ever on January 22, 2012, 02:46 AM
Yeah, I too was suprised about the assortment with the RO90 after experiencing the skimpy assortment from my ETS150/3.  That Saphir is really tough stuff, awesome for stripping exterior paint with the delta pad.  The included Vlies S800 got a nice workout polishing all the cast iron tops in my shop!
Title: Re: RO90DX included sandpaper assortment and an observation
Post by: Tom Bellemare on January 22, 2012, 11:18 AM
Living here, there's a good portion of the year when it makes no sense to cook inside. The A/C is already having a tough time keeping up...

So, we use the outdoor grill almost exclusively for meats & vegetables. If we're frying, we fry on the side burner mostly. It gets quite a build up of baked on grease, etc. on the SST parts around the opening and side burner. It's almost impossible to get off, EXCEPT, with the RO 90 and Vlies. It makes quick work of it.


Tom
Title: Re: RO90DX included sandpaper assortment and an observation
Post by: denovich on January 22, 2012, 08:38 PM
Tom,

Thank you for the brilliant suggestion.  Our All-Clads definitely need some attention.  Elbow grease and ultra-fine Scotchbrite pads will get it done... eventually.  I'm going to go put the RO90 to work on that right now.
Title: Re: RO90DX included sandpaper assortment and an observation
Post by: Scott Burt on January 22, 2012, 10:50 PM
We put vlies on a RO90 and waxed our snowboards recently. No joke.
Title: Re: RO90DX included sandpaper assortment and an observation
Post by: Kev on January 23, 2012, 12:04 AM
We put vlies on a RO90 and waxed our snowboards recently. No joke.

Now I'm thinking circular wax blocks at slow speed for the surfboard  [cool]