Author Topic: 36 mm hose on standard tools  (Read 1807 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shawn Nichols

  • Posts: 24
36 mm hose on standard tools
« on: July 02, 2018, 08:14 PM »
Hey FOG Members,

I have a question about the Festool 452882 Antistatic Hose, 36mm X 3.5m. I purchased it because I've had issues with my 27mm x 3.5 m hose getting clogged when cleaning up my shop (i.e. small cut offs and plane shavings) with my CT 22. I thought a larger hose may help but it doesn't fit snuggly on my Festool tools (sanders, domino, routers, etc.). I didn't think of this before purchasing it and wanted to ask the FOG is anyone has a work around or can tell me what the purpose is for the larger hose? Maybe it's for larger tools like the Planer or Kapex?? I saw older threads referencing adapters but I couldn't find them online any more.

I guess I could just use it for clean ups and swap it out but it doesn't fit snuggly on my Porter Cable sweeper attachment either. I'm contemplating just returning it but I wanted to check in here first to see if I'm missing something.

Please note, the 27 mm hose never clogs during operation on any of my tools, it's just in the cleanup process.

Thanks for the help.

-Shawn
TS55, RO150, ES150, OF1400, CT22, OF1010, CXS Drill Set, MFT3, Domino 500Q Set...wanting more!

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline Corwin

  • Posts: 2598
Re: 36 mm hose on standard tools
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2018, 11:54 PM »
I believe that the 452882 is the older version of the D36 hose, before the twist-lock tool ends and the braided-yet-flexible hoses. The tool end of this hose will fit OVER the dust port for some of your tools that the smaller D27's tool end fit INTO (like your TS55). Other tools where the D27's tool end fits INTO the dust port will need an adapter. As you have already discovered, there had been some adapters that are no longer available. Hope someone else has a current solution for you.
Looks like your rabbit joint is a hare off! ;)

Offline SRSemenza

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 8514
  • Finger Lakes Region, NY State , USA
Re: 36 mm hose on standard tools
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2018, 12:00 AM »
This will adapt the D36 to ta D27 port. At least on the older style D36 hose end.  Not sure if it can be found for less etc. Just using the link to show the item. Personally I find the D36 to be cumbersome on sanders.

  https://www.ebay.com/itm/Festool-Hose-Adaptor-adapts-1-1-2-36MM-vacuum-hose-to-Festool-power-tools/281170529852?hash=item417711ce3c:g:zIoAAOSwt5tZwtdu

Seth

Offline Naildrivingman

  • Posts: 475
Re: 36 mm hose on standard tools
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2018, 07:10 AM »
This will adapt the D36 to ta D27 port. At least on the older style D36 hose end.  Not sure if it can be found for less etc. Just using the link to show the item. Personally I find the D36 to be cumbersome on sanders.

  https://www.ebay.com/itm/Festool-Hose-Adaptor-adapts-1-1-2-36MM-vacuum-hose-to-Festool-power-tools/281170529852?hash=item417711ce3c:g:zIoAAOSwt5tZwtdu

Seth
I agree with Seth on the 36mm's bulk if used alone.

I have a boom arm and I bought the 36-27 extention whip from a fellow FOGger.  I believe it is available from Bob Marino.  It does make a difference.  I don't think I have ever tried it without the boom arm, though.

RE your clogging issue.  I would suggest one of two things.
1. A rough clean with broom/dustpan followed by vacuum
2. Use a typical Shop Vac for heavy cleanup.

I'm kind of frugal.  I don't like spending money on vac bags for the CT if I am going to be filling them with rough debris.
Dance with who brung ya...

Offline Shawn Nichols

  • Posts: 24
Re: 36 mm hose on standard tools
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2018, 07:16 AM »
Thanks everyone. This was very helpful.

-Shawn
TS55, RO150, ES150, OF1400, CT22, OF1010, CXS Drill Set, MFT3, Domino 500Q Set...wanting more!

Offline mobetta

  • Posts: 14
Re: 36 mm hose on standard tools
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2018, 03:47 PM »
I had a few of the new twist lock ends floating around from recent tool purchases where they threw it in the box free.

I cut 6" off my CY-SYS hose and applied a new end to each cut end.
The result is a 6" shorter hose on the CT, which makes it easier to pack up, and a short double ended adapter whic will fit inside the larger hose and connect to the tool.

I also removed the CT end of a 27x3.5m hose and fashioned a long adapter handy for running around a large room doing inside corners with the CT AC and a DTS. having the smaller hose is way easier to manage and suction is plentiful. One does need a 10' extension cord for the tool.
RO125  pro 5  DTS400
DF500  DF700  TSC55  HKC55  TS55
DWC-18 Planex CT36AC  CT36  CTMidi  Ctsys x2

Offline Birdhunter

  • Posts: 2288
  • Woodworker, Sportsman, Retired
Re: 36 mm hose on standard tools
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2018, 04:08 PM »
I use a short version of the 36mm hose on my Kapex to get increased debris removal. I have a standard length 36mm hose I use on my Festool planer.

I don't try to use the larger hose on my other Festool units as it is just too bulky.
Birdhunter

Offline Gregor

  • Posts: 928
Re: 36 mm hose on standard tools
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2018, 05:30 PM »
I also removed the CT end of a 27x3.5m hose and fashioned a long adapter handy for running around a large room doing inside corners with the CT AC and a DTS. having the smaller hose is way easier to manage and suction is plentiful. One does need a 10' extension cord for the tool.
FYI: Longer plugit cords (eg. 10m @amazon.com ~60$ - different outlets might have better pricing) are available.

Offline ear3

  • Posts: 3590
Re: 36 mm hose on standard tools
« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2018, 05:39 PM »
The 36mm hose is essential for the 2200 router and the HL850 planer to avoid clogging.  On some other tools, however, it does increase dust intake measurably.  I've found this to be the case for the Kapex. the tracksaws and even the RAS.  While the older style 36mm ribbed hose was cumbersome on some tools, I've begun to use the newer, more flexible version -- coupled with a 27mm hose whip -- on a lot of the tools I used to only hook up with the 27mm hose.   
Kapex KS 120 w/UG Cart and Extensions • CXS Set • T18+3 w/Centrotec Installer's Set • PDC 18/4 • TS 75 • TSC 55 • HKC 55 w/250, 420 and 670 FSK rails • Carvex 420 w/Accessory Kit • Domino 500 Set • Domino 700 XL • OF 2200 w/Base Accessory Kit • OF 1400 • OF 1010 • MFK 700 EQ Set • LR 32 • MFS 400 w/2000, 1000, and 700 extensions • Rotex 90 • Rotex 150 • LS 130 • ETS-EC 150/5 • ETS-EC 150/3 • ETS 150/3 • Pro 5 LTD • RTS 400 • RAS 115.04 • RS 2 • HL 850 • Vecturo OS 400 • CT 26 w/BT module • CT Sys w/Long-Life Bag • MFT/3

Offline leakyroof

  • Posts: 2196
Re: 36 mm hose on standard tools
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2018, 06:25 PM »
The 36mm hose is essential for the 2200 router and the HL850 planer to avoid clogging.  On some other tools, however, it does increase dust intake measurably.  I've found this to be the case for the Kapex. the tracksaws and even the RAS.  While the older style 36mm ribbed hose was cumbersome on some tools, I've begun to use the newer, more flexible version -- coupled with a 27mm hose whip -- on a lot of the tools I used to only hook up with the 27mm hose.
. Hmmm, interesting... Did you buy the Whip from Bob Marino or make your own.... [scratch chin] [scratch chin]
Not as many Sanders as PA Floor guy.....

Offline sprior

  • Posts: 379
Re: 36 mm hose on standard tools
« Reply #10 on: July 12, 2018, 02:44 PM »
Slightly offtopic, but if anyone wants to use their Festool dust collector with a 36mm hose to take the dust off a tool that has a 2 1/2" dust port, I designed a 3D printable adapter that can be downloaded for free here on Thingiverse.  I made it to use a Rigid oscillating belt sander with my CT26.

Offline mike_aa

  • Posts: 1041
Re: 36 mm hose on standard tools
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2018, 01:41 PM »
Slightly offtopic, but if anyone wants to use their Festool dust collector with a 36mm hose to take the dust off a tool that has a 2 1/2" dust port, I designed a 3D printable adapter that can be downloaded for free here on Thingiverse.  I made it to use a Rigid oscillating belt sander with my CT26.

I don't have a printer, but I also needed a 36mm adapter for an older sander I have.  Thanks to the files from and advice of  @sprior  I downloaded his file and submitted them to one of my local libraries that offers a 3D printing service.  They just charge for the material, so for the sum of $2.20 plus tax, I was able to pick up my print.  They even had a color similar to Festool green.

Mike A.

Offline sprior

  • Posts: 379
Re: 36 mm hose on standard tools
« Reply #12 on: July 19, 2018, 01:43 PM »
Fantastic!  Glad it works for you.