Author Topic: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.  (Read 2149 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gostauffergo

  • Posts: 15
I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« on: October 13, 2018, 09:25 PM »
I use the compact cleaning set a ton with my CT26 and a 36mm hose. I have always used my 36mm hose for airflow, but also the fact that the end fits over the connecting port of the tools, instead of going inside the port like the connector on the 27mm hoses. When I am cleaning up the job site (lots of demo etc), the 27mm end shrinks down the opening since it goes inside the port and causes tons of clogs. I don’t have that problem when I use the 36mm hose with the corresponding end.

Sooooo the  hitch is that I’ve just bought a CT mini, and the 36mm hose doesn’t fit in the hose garage. Which means I need to get a 36mm hose end on the 27mm hose, or I’ll be doomed to having a sys4 attached to the vac in order to hold the hose. Which starts to defeat the purpose of getting a CT mini.

So a 36mm hose end for a 27mm hose- does it exist?
« Last Edit: October 13, 2018, 09:31 PM by gostauffergo »

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline Untidy Shop

  • Posts: 2673
If you don't like Signatures, just go to Look and Layout and tick No Signatures.

“The test of the machine is the satisfaction it gives you. There isn't any other test. If the machine produces tranquility it's right. If it disturbs you it's wrong until either the machine or your mind is changed.”
― Robert M. Pirsig, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance: An Inquiry Into Values

Offline Sometimewoodworker

  • Posts: 746
    • Jerome's  Other work
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2018, 11:24 PM »
Yes, well an adaptor does. This is the FESTOOL Australia site -

https://www.festool.com.au/products/accessories-and-consumables/dust-extraction/dust-extractor/hoses-cleaning-sets-connections/hose-connections-antistatic/36mm-to-27mm-antistatic-hose-reducing-connector_76

But the part number should let you search NA sources.
That is a 27mm end for a 36mm hose,

not what was asked for.

The OP wants a 36mm end for a 27mm hose
Jerome
TS55, OF1400, Elu MOF96, Rotex150, DTS400, ETS150/3 Domino, MFK700, CXS, HL 850, Trend T11, Makita LS1212, Original Mini CV06 Cyclone, Workshop supplies drum sander, & WoodRat. Don't have don't want list: MFT
http://www.flickr.com/photos/nui-jerome/

Offline gostauffergo

  • Posts: 15
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2018, 12:09 AM »
Yup, I need a 36mm end for a 27mm hose.

Offline Sometimewoodworker

  • Posts: 746
    • Jerome's  Other work
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2018, 12:15 AM »
Yup, I need a 36mm end for a 27mm hose.
The problem is that even if you can get that adapter it's just going to move the place that blocks where the 27mm hose connects.

I don't bother with an adapter but a couple of bits of inner tube around the end of the 27mm connection would give a perfect fit. 286185-0
« Last Edit: October 14, 2018, 12:21 AM by Sometimewoodworker »
Jerome
TS55, OF1400, Elu MOF96, Rotex150, DTS400, ETS150/3 Domino, MFK700, CXS, HL 850, Trend T11, Makita LS1212, Original Mini CV06 Cyclone, Workshop supplies drum sander, & WoodRat. Don't have don't want list: MFT
http://www.flickr.com/photos/nui-jerome/

Offline macrutt

  • Posts: 16

Offline SRSemenza

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 8643
  • Finger Lakes Region, NY State , USA
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2018, 12:34 AM »
I don't think there is a good way to put a 36 tool end onto a 27 hose. At least not in a way that will be helpful.

Seth

Offline Sometimewoodworker

  • Posts: 746
    • Jerome's  Other work
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2018, 01:17 AM »
Hi,

Perhaps this might help .

http://www.industrialvacs.com/Tool_Socket_connects_suction_hose_to_power_tool_p/h302000535.htm


Take care , George

That is a 27mm end for a 36mm hose,

not what was asked for.

The OP wants a 36mm end for a 27mm hose
Jerome
TS55, OF1400, Elu MOF96, Rotex150, DTS400, ETS150/3 Domino, MFK700, CXS, HL 850, Trend T11, Makita LS1212, Original Mini CV06 Cyclone, Workshop supplies drum sander, & WoodRat. Don't have don't want list: MFT
http://www.flickr.com/photos/nui-jerome/

Offline jonathan-m

  • Posts: 324
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2018, 04:47 AM »
As far as I know it doesn't exist.
I think your best bet is to see if a 36 to 32mm tapered hose fits in the hose garage.
The 36 -> 32mm hose has a 36mm connector on it.
I don't know why Festool uses a 27mm anyway, IMO its a useless hose diameter.
You can sand just fine with a 32
Festool: 2x MFT/3 // OF-1400 // MFS-400 & 700 // RO-90 // SYS-ROLL // VAC-SYS SET SE1 // CT-ASA CT 26/36/SB // KS 120 EB & UG-L & R //  VECTURO OS 400 EQ-Set  // DSG-AG 125 // DSC-AG 125 // DSC-AG 125 FH // HK 85 EB // HK 55 EB
Protool: 2x VCP 260 LE AC // PDP 20-2
Mafell: MT55cc // P1cc // DD40P // Erika 85 Ec

Offline Sometimewoodworker

  • Posts: 746
    • Jerome's  Other work
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #9 on: October 14, 2018, 06:28 AM »
I don't know why Festool uses a 27mm anyway, IMO its a useless hose diameter.
You can sand just fine with a 32
It works well for me and if the 36mm were standard I would probably not be using most of my Festool tools as it's just an unnecessarily large size.
Jerome
TS55, OF1400, Elu MOF96, Rotex150, DTS400, ETS150/3 Domino, MFK700, CXS, HL 850, Trend T11, Makita LS1212, Original Mini CV06 Cyclone, Workshop supplies drum sander, & WoodRat. Don't have don't want list: MFT
http://www.flickr.com/photos/nui-jerome/

Offline Untidy Shop

  • Posts: 2673
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #10 on: October 14, 2018, 07:56 AM »
OK 'sports fans'  let's see if this will work  [eek] -

Anti Static Reducing Sleeve for Tool 27 mm / 36 mm

Work without the dust

For use with all Festool power tools with a dust extraction connection diameter of 27 mm and 36 mm. Use this reducing sleeve to connect your power tool or a cleaning device (floor nozzle) to Festool anti static or standard suction hose with a 27 mm or 32 mm diameter (not suitable for use with the integrated plug-it suction hose).

https://www.festool.com.au/products/accessories-and-consumables/dust-extraction/dust-extractor/hoses-cleaning-sets-connections/hose-connections-antistatic/antistatic-reducing-sleeve-for-tool-27mm_202346
« Last Edit: October 14, 2018, 08:20 AM by Untidy Shop »
If you don't like Signatures, just go to Look and Layout and tick No Signatures.

“The test of the machine is the satisfaction it gives you. There isn't any other test. If the machine produces tranquility it's right. If it disturbs you it's wrong until either the machine or your mind is changed.”
― Robert M. Pirsig, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance: An Inquiry Into Values

Offline SRSemenza

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 8643
  • Finger Lakes Region, NY State , USA
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #11 on: October 14, 2018, 10:59 AM »
OK 'sports fans'  let's see if this will work  [eek] -

Anti Static Reducing Sleeve for Tool 27 mm / 36 mm

Work without the dust

For use with all Festool power tools with a dust extraction connection diameter of 27 mm and 36 mm. Use this reducing sleeve to connect your power tool or a cleaning device (floor nozzle) to Festool anti static or standard suction hose with a 27 mm or 32 mm diameter (not suitable for use with the integrated plug-it suction hose).

https://www.festool.com.au/products/accessories-and-consumables/dust-extraction/dust-extractor/hoses-cleaning-sets-connections/hose-connections-antistatic/antistatic-reducing-sleeve-for-tool-27mm_202346


Wrong direction.  OP needs the tool side to be 36 and the hose side to be 27.  Going bigger not smaller.


Seth

Offline SRSemenza

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 8643
  • Finger Lakes Region, NY State , USA
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #12 on: October 14, 2018, 11:07 AM »
I think you may need to invent your own especially if you want to get rid of the  "inside fit clog point".  Need to create some sort of butt connector in the same way that a PVC pipe coupler works.  Otherwise you will always have the lip / catch point on the inside.  Or the inside of the adapter needs to have a tight fitting step  to make the transition a smooth continuous diameter.

Seth

Offline gostauffergo

  • Posts: 15
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #13 on: October 14, 2018, 01:10 PM »
Yeah it’s looking like I’m going to need to hack something together. I need to the very end of the left 36mm connector in the photo onto the hose piece of the 27mm connector.

What’s the best way to connect these? I don’t know what kind of rubber they’re made out of or what would be the best glue for them. I’m hoping the 36mm end can slide over the 27mm base, and I get secure it with PL premium or something? Anybody have any legit ideas?
« Last Edit: October 14, 2018, 01:22 PM by gostauffergo »

Offline gostauffergo

  • Posts: 15
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #14 on: October 14, 2018, 01:21 PM »
Maybe I take the outer piece of the 36mm end, and glue it onto the 27mm end after I’ve cut off the end. Adhesive/silicone/whatever the connections smooth so it doesn’t trap debris. Seems like it’ll work, except that point will be under a lot of stress and may give me trouble.

So what would bond the rubber best? PL, abs glue, some silicone? I have no clue.

Offline gostauffergo

  • Posts: 15
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #15 on: October 14, 2018, 01:28 PM »
also, I’m not sure if it is rubber or plastic or both which would need to bond.

Offline SRSemenza

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 8643
  • Finger Lakes Region, NY State , USA
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #16 on: October 14, 2018, 01:51 PM »
Maybe I take the outer piece of the 36mm end, and glue it onto the 27mm end after I’ve cut off the end. Adhesive/silicone/whatever the connections smooth so it doesn’t trap debris. Seems like it’ll work, except that point will be under a lot of stress and may give me trouble.

So what would bond the rubber best? PL, abs glue, some silicone? I have no clue.

When you look inside that connection (the way it is in the "glue" pic) from the end , isn't there still a lip / catch point on the inside?

I would stuff the space with something and then use electrical tape to attach it as a test before getting into the glue.


Seth
« Last Edit: October 14, 2018, 01:55 PM by SRSemenza »

Offline Tinker

  • Posts: 3665
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #17 on: October 14, 2018, 02:04 PM »
I don' have it set up now, but when I hammy Hitachi SCMS set up, I could no hook it  up to my 27mm or 32mm hose. None of he fittings would work the Hitachi. Maily they wouldn' work due to the horrible connection on he Hitachi. I finally got a Fernco rubber fitting and slit the end of the (rubber)fitting the would go onto the SCMS, put a hose clamp around he  slit end and socked it up very very  tight. End of problem.
Tinker
Wayne H. Tinker

Offline RustE

  • Posts: 342
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #18 on: October 14, 2018, 03:59 PM »
I think Bob Marino used to offer a 2ft hose adapter to step-up sizes.  I couldn’t find it on his website just now. Might be worth a quick e-mail to him?

Offline Corwin

  • Posts: 2640
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #19 on: October 14, 2018, 07:41 PM »
I think Bob Marino used to offer a 2ft hose adapter to step-up sizes.  I couldn’t find it on his website just now. Might be worth a quick e-mail to him?

You are probably thinking of the adapter that has the D27 tool-end fitting on either end of a short length of D27 hose. Once again, this it the opposite of what the OP is looking for.
Looks like your rabbit joint is a hare off! ;)

Offline RustE

  • Posts: 342
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #20 on: October 14, 2018, 08:06 PM »
You are probably thinking of the adapter that has the D27 tool-end fitting on either end of a short length of D27 hose. Once again, this it the opposite of what the OP is looking for.

Hmm. Maybe? Been a while since I’ve seen the thing. Would still be worth disturbing some electrons to ask Bob if he has something or could supply parts to make something.

Offline Sometimewoodworker

  • Posts: 746
    • Jerome's  Other work
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #21 on: October 14, 2018, 08:16 PM »
Yeah it’s looking like I’m going to need to hack something together. I need to the very end of the left 36mm connector in the photo onto the hose piece of the 27mm connector.

What’s the best way to connect these? I don’t know what kind of rubber they’re made out of or what would be the best glue for them. I’m hoping the 36mm end can slide over the 27mm base, and I get secure it with PL premium or something? Anybody have any legit ideas?
unless you want it to be permanent that's the wrong end piece to try to connect to on the 36mm hose.

The best way is a short 27mm hose with 2 vacuum connections and a joining sleeve, stop trying to connect a tool end 27mm to a 36mm hose, it's going to be extremely difficult and a massive restriction

« Last Edit: October 14, 2018, 09:03 PM by Sometimewoodworker »
Jerome
TS55, OF1400, Elu MOF96, Rotex150, DTS400, ETS150/3 Domino, MFK700, CXS, HL 850, Trend T11, Makita LS1212, Original Mini CV06 Cyclone, Workshop supplies drum sander, & WoodRat. Don't have don't want list: MFT
http://www.flickr.com/photos/nui-jerome/

Offline SRSemenza

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 8643
  • Finger Lakes Region, NY State , USA
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #22 on: October 15, 2018, 12:33 AM »
OP needs / wants D27 hose   with 36  tool end connector

Small hose with big end. Not big hose with small end.

I'll be interested to see the creation. Hope it works.


Seth

Offline Sometimewoodworker

  • Posts: 746
    • Jerome's  Other work
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #23 on: October 15, 2018, 12:41 AM »
OP needs / wants D27 hose   with 36  tool end connector

Small hose with big end. Not big hose with small end.

I'll be interested to see the creation. Hope it works.

Seth
Or a way to connect the CT mini to a 36mm hose
Jerome
TS55, OF1400, Elu MOF96, Rotex150, DTS400, ETS150/3 Domino, MFK700, CXS, HL 850, Trend T11, Makita LS1212, Original Mini CV06 Cyclone, Workshop supplies drum sander, & WoodRat. Don't have don't want list: MFT
http://www.flickr.com/photos/nui-jerome/

Offline Corwin

  • Posts: 2640
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #24 on: October 15, 2018, 04:28 AM »
I use the compact cleaning set a ton with my CT26 and a 36mm hose. I have always used my 36mm hose for airflow, but also the fact that the end fits over the connecting port of the tools, instead of going inside the port like the connector on the 27mm hoses. When I am cleaning up the job site (lots of demo etc), the 27mm end shrinks down the opening since it goes inside the port and causes tons of clogs. I don’t have that problem when I use the 36mm hose with the corresponding end.

Sooooo the  hitch is that I’ve just bought a CT mini, and the 36mm hose doesn’t fit in the hose garage. Which means I need to get a 36mm hose end on the 27mm hose, or I’ll be doomed to having a sys4 attached to the vac in order to hold the hose. Which starts to defeat the purpose of getting a CT mini.

So a 36mm hose end for a 27mm hose- does it exist?

I believe that in RustE's post earlier, he was referring to the old Dave Ronyak Adapter that Bob Marino has offered which is really the opposite of what you are trying to accomplish. Yet, if the older D36 tool-end fittings are still available, then one could do a similar thing; make up a short length of D36 hose with D36 tool-end fittings on either end. The tool-end fitting of your D27 hose can then be inserted into one of the D36 tool-end fittings of this short adapter. Might not be as spiffy as the fitting you really want, but these parts are (or were) available. Then again, with this solution you still would have an issue with material causing a clog where it meets the end of the D27 tool-end fitting.  [sad]  Hmmm. Maybe someone is selling a Sys-IV in the classifieds.  [wink]
Looks like your rabbit joint is a hare off! ;)

Offline TheSergeant

  • Posts: 91
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #25 on: October 16, 2018, 03:47 AM »
I just saw the photo of the 27mm next to the 36mm.  Are the 36mm twist locks now like the new 27mm?!?!

Offline Kodi Crescent

  • Posts: 733
Re: I want to put a 36mm connector on my 27mm hose.
« Reply #26 on: October 17, 2018, 10:49 AM »
It's frustrating when those clogs happen.  Unfortunately, I think you have to live with the shortcoming and take the larger hose with you.  Or keep a pail nearby to put larger pieces into before/after clogs.  Or vacuum more slowly.

Sucking up demo work must use up CT Mini bags rapidly.  That must get expensive.