Author Topic: Replacing the power cord on Kapex  (Read 732 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mmorgan101

  • Posts: 9
Replacing the power cord on Kapex
« on: February 13, 2019, 02:36 PM »
Has anyone replaced the power cord on a Kapex?  My rabbit chewed the power cord into and I have ordered a new cord from Festool but not sure what is actually involved in replacing it. 
mmorgan101
Kapex, CT 22 dust extractor, R90 Sander, T15 +3 drill, Sawstop table saw

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Online Alex

  • Posts: 5980
Re: Replacing the power cord on Kapex
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2019, 02:19 AM »
Never done the Kapex myself but many other Festools, it is always very simple, just need a screw driver, probably torx 15. Open the casing where the cord goes in and you'll see the screw terminals for the cord. Unscrew, replace, re-screw and ready.

Here's an exploded view from Ekat:


Offline DeformedTree

  • Posts: 494
Re: Replacing the power cord on Kapex
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2019, 10:12 AM »
, it is always very simple, just need a screw driver, probably torx 15. Open the casing where the cord goes in and you'll see the screw terminals for the cord. Unscrew, replace, re-screw and ready.

...And remember to unplug tool first before beginning repair.    [tongue]

Offline JimH2

  • Posts: 788
Re: Replacing the power cord on Kapex
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2019, 12:19 PM »
Has anyone replaced the power cord on a Kapex?  My rabbit chewed the power cord into and I have ordered a new cord from Festool but not sure what is actually involved in replacing it.

I had my opened up to replace the armature. The cord is clearly visible and should be easy to replace. You can figure out disassembly order using the guide in this thread:

http://festoolownersgroup.com/festool-tool-problems/another-dead-kapex-55656/?
« Last Edit: February 14, 2019, 12:22 PM by JimH2 »

Offline dlu

  • Posts: 158
Re: Replacing the power cord on Kapex
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2019, 03:12 PM »
My rabbit chewed the power cord…

 [eek] Is your rabbit ok? Seems like that could end badly!

Offline DeformedTree

  • Posts: 494
Re: Replacing the power cord on Kapex
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2019, 09:07 PM »
My rabbit chewed the power cord…

 [eek] Is your rabbit ok? Seems like that could end badly!

...Or tasty  ;D