Author Topic: Systainers Router Bit Insert  (Read 1379 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline magellan

  • Posts: 187
Systainers Router Bit Insert
« on: November 19, 2018, 09:37 AM »
Hello,
I have a few extra Classic Systainers that I believe I would like to use for router bit storage.  Does Festool sell the insert that fits inside the systainers for router bits separately?  And if so what would be the part no. 

Or, does anyone have a better idea?  I have a sys l and a sys ll that I could use.  I would prefer to use the sys ll in order to possibly stack two levels or bits.

Thank you for your ideas

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline neeleman

  • Posts: 1211
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2018, 10:00 AM »
I use these bitholders from Lee Valley. Available for 1/4" or 1/2" router bits.
You can two boards separated with spacers in a SYS 2.
The Festool router bit insert for a T-Loc systainer is available in Holland separately, no number sorry.



Festoolian since 1998.
FESTOOL:
SYSROCK BR10 | SYSLITE KAL II | SV-SYS D14 | DSC-AG125FH | CDD9.6 | SYSLITE DUO | DF700 | HKC55 | TXS2.6 | CTL SYS | CXS2.6 | DWC18 | CTWings | BHC18 | CS50 | CMS-OF | MFT/3 | MFT/3-VL | KS120 | TS55 R | PSC420 | PS420 | BS75 | RAS115 | RO90 | RO150 | RS400 | RTS400 | RS300 | LS130 | DX93 | ETS150/5 | ETS150/3 | OF1010 | OF1400 | OFK500 | MFK700 | T18 | EHL65 | CTL26 | CTL22 | CTL MIDI | WCR1000 | D27-AS Plug-it | D36 UNI-RS | D36x7 | D50x2.5 | FS800 | FS800/2 | FS1080/2 | FS1400/2 (2x) | FS3000/2 | FSK250 | FSK420 | Gecko Dosh | Toolie | CE-SYS-2010 | RB-SYS CART (2x) | LEV1400 | LEV350 | SYS-MFT
PROTOOL:
CHP26 | PDC18 | FLC UNI | VCP260 | DSC-AGP125 | DSC-AGP230 | DSG-AGP125 | DRP16

Offline jpmeunier

  • Posts: 69
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2018, 10:36 AM »
Hello,
I have a few extra Classic Systainers that I believe I would like to use for router bit storage.  Does Festool sell the insert that fits inside the systainers for router bits separately?  And if so what would be the part no. 

Or, does anyone have a better idea?  I have a sys l and a sys ll that I could use.  I would prefer to use the sys ll in order to possibly stack two levels or bits.

Thank you for your ideas

It is available, I bought one, they're about $17 if I remember correctly. I have the part number at home, but you can find it on festool's spare parts catalog.

Online Bob D.

  • Posts: 835
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2018, 10:42 AM »
"It is available"

Available being on what continent?

There was a member who created a nice router bit storage insert last year. Don't remember what happened to them though. He was going to batch them out on a CNC and was taking orders. I said I was interested but I don't think it generated enough interest but not sure exactly why it didn't go forward.
-----
It's a table saw, do you know where your fingers are?

Offline jarbroen

  • Posts: 87
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2018, 10:42 AM »
I purchased some of the Kaizen foam from Fastcap.  I had a spare sys 2 so I got the 2" thick foam.
I traced the outline of the systainer on the foam and cut with my Carvex.  Took a little bit of trimming and fitting but got it just right.
Now I can make my own router bit holes and whatever spacing I need.  I've been using the OF 1400 with 1/2" or 1/4" bit to make the corresponding hole sizes.

I think the big, 2'x4' sheet of foam was around $20.  Lots of other uses as well.

Offline magellan

  • Posts: 187
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2018, 11:05 AM »
Hey Fellows

I did do some searching and found the very nice CNC bit holders from last year.  If I remember correctly he discontinued making them. I did not reread the entire post, they were very nice.  If I could find the Festool ones I believe I would be satisfied.  Is the Festool catalog online?   I love all the ideas that have been offered but I have a lot of other work to do right now so buying a few inserts most likely is the easiest route to take.  i Will consider all other options if I can’t find them

Thank you again for your ideas and help

Offline jpmeunier

  • Posts: 69
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2018, 11:07 AM »


Part number is second number.

Offline magellan

  • Posts: 187
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2018, 11:36 AM »
Thank you for the part no.  I will admit $34.00 apiece sort of surprises me but I should not be it is Festool. 

Is it really possible to make nice holes in the Kaizen foam ?   I just envision making a mess of it when trying  to bore holes in it.   

Offline Lou in DE

  • Posts: 98
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2018, 12:51 PM »
Is it really possible to make nice holes in the Kaizen foam ?   I just envision making a mess of it when trying  to bore holes in it.   

You can make perfect "holes" in Kaizen foam by heating metal (say an old bit shank) with a heat gun and melting through
the foam - I have gotten a few holes done before needing to heat it up again.

Lou
In theory, theory and reality are the same. In reality, theory and reality are different - especially in woodworking!

Offline jarbroen

  • Posts: 87
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2018, 01:19 PM »
Thank you for the part no.  I will admit $34.00 apiece sort of surprises me but I should not be it is Festool. 

Is it really possible to make nice holes in the Kaizen foam ?   I just envision making a mess of it when trying  to bore holes in it.   

The router bits make very clean holes in the Kaizen foam.  My guess is the speed helps.
The Carvex also worked really well to trim the outline of the foam.  I don't remember which blade I used.  Probably the Carvex FSG since I usually have one of those installed.

Offline PeterK

  • Posts: 972
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2018, 03:01 PM »
I have used the Festool foam and others from various suppliers. I have found the router bit shafts develope corrosion while in the foam and they tend to stick and pull out with foam stuck to the shafts. This is with various foams. I use moisture absorbing pads in the drawers to try to combat this but did not help. This is with drawers that close tightly.
I now use mdf with oversized holes drilled. Much easier to insert and remove the bits and no more corrosion issues.

Offline Svar

  • Posts: 1566
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2018, 03:05 PM »
I have found the router bit shafts develope corrosion while in the foam and they tend to stick and pull out with foam stuck to the shafts.
Is your shop heated/cooled? N. Michigan is relatively humid.

Offline PeterK

  • Posts: 972
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #12 on: November 19, 2018, 10:15 PM »
This was in a climate controlled shop in Louisiana. Obviously humidity was a fight there but the shop was insulated and air conditioned. Never had rust on any of my power tools, just the router bits. Hope this is not as much of a problem here in Michigan!  [wink]

Offline neilc

  • Posts: 2525
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #13 on: November 21, 2018, 08:34 AM »
I cut holes in foam with brass tubing from the hobby shop or hardware store.

You can buy 1/4, 3/8 or 1/2” in 12” lengths. 

Sharpen the end on a sander or grinder and place in a drill.  It will cut plugs and capture it inside.  You do have to remove from the drill to get the plugs out but coat hanger wire works great.

Neil

Offline magellan

  • Posts: 187
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #14 on: November 21, 2018, 09:06 AM »
Neil,

Nice idea, I've been thinking about the Kaizen foam.  I did however contact Festool USA to see if that foam insert is available here.  Hopefully I contacted the correct department.  I sent an email earlier this morning.  I like the brass tube idea.

Thank you

Online Roseland

  • Posts: 581
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #15 on: November 21, 2018, 11:16 AM »
I may be wrong, but the Festool insert is, I believe, only for 8mm and 12mm/ 1/2" shank cutters.

Most of my cutters are 1/4" or 1/2", with very few 8mm, which is why I didn't go with the Festool insert.

Andrew
TS55, MFT/3, OF1400, OF1010, CT26, RS100, ETS125, CXS, MFS400, DF-500, Zobos.

Offline jonnyrocket

  • Posts: 10
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #16 on: November 21, 2018, 11:22 AM »
I have the festool insert and it does work with all size shanks: 1/4”, 8mm, and 1/2”
If anything, I believe that the 8mm shanks May use the same holes as the 1/4” bits so they are a bit more snug than the others, but it does hold all three very securely.

Offline CADru

  • Posts: 67
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #17 on: November 21, 2018, 04:00 PM »

Offline magellan

  • Posts: 187
Re: Systainers Router Bit Insert
« Reply #18 on: November 21, 2018, 05:00 PM »
CADru
Thank you for sharing the thread with us.  Maybe it’s just a coincidence but I just picked up two 4x8 sheets of Baltic Birch today for another project and I know I will have extra.  Great detail in your previous thread.   I love when folks explain so well that I’m not left with questions

By the way for anyone who is interested Festool returned my email and the foam is available from the parts department here in the US. 

Thank you