Author Topic: International Contest: Write a review for your chance to win a Rotex 150!  (Read 24177 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shane Holland

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6893
    • Festool USA
The Festool Owners Group has become a premier destination on the web for people who are seeking information about Festool products.  One of the best sources of information is reviews that are written by our members.  This educates others about the products and offers an unbiased, first-hand account of the tool or accessory.  For our next contest, members will be asked to submit a product review in their own words about a Festool tool or accessory that they currently own.  I would say that the majority of forum members have, at some time, benefited from the sharing of knowledge here on the forum.  This is your opportunity to share with others and have the potential of being rewarded for your endeavors.

Contest Rules

  • The reviews must be your own original material.
  • You may submit reviews of more than one product to increase your chances of winning. Multiple reviews of the same product are not eligible for consideration.
  • Existing reviews are not eligible for this contest.  You may not submit a review for the contest of a product which you have already reviewed on the forum.
  • Reviews must consist of two or more photos of the product in use and a minimum of 400 written words or a minimum of ninety seconds (90s) of video.
  • Video reviews should be uploaded to YouTube and then submitted to the Festool YouTube Group Channel.
  • Contest entries must be posted between Thursday, April 22nd, 2010 and Wednesday, June 30th, 2010.
  • The contest is open to all members of the forum including those outside of the United States who are at least 18 years of age, except where prohibited by law.  Participants must be from a country where Festool is sold to be eligible to win.
  • Festool employees, dealers and affiliates, and FOG moderators are not eligible to win (but may choose to participate).
  • Festool reserves the right to use the content from any entries in the SysNotes email newsletter or other marketing materials.

Prizes

  • Video prize: Randomly selected from video review entries, a Festool Rotex 150 FEQ.
  • Written prize: Randomly selected from written review entries, a Festool Rotex 150 FEQ.

Winners will be randomly selected from the list of entries that adhere to the contest rules above and announced by Monday, July 5th, 2010.

How to Enter.

Members must submit their entries for the contest in the form of a post on the forum.  The post must include the following information at a minimum:

  • Reviews should be entitled "Review of Festool" and then the product name and product number and should be posted as a new thread in the Festool Tool Reviews section of the forum.
  • Written reviews must contain two or more application photos showing the product in use and a minimum of 400 words.
  • Video reviews must be a minimum of ninety seconds (90s) long and should be uploaded to YouTube and then submitted to the Festool YouTube Group Channel.  Video reviews can also be posted in a thread on the forum using the same formatting listed above for written reviews.


Feel free to post any questions you might have.  Best of luck to everyone!
Shane Holland | Festool USA | Sales: 888-337-8600 | Service: 800-554-8741 | TS 55 REQ Recall Hotline: 855-784-9727| sho@festoolusa.com



Power Tools, Domino Joiners, RRP HEPA Vacs, Track SawsDrywall Sanders, Cordless Drills, Tools for Painters, Jigsaws, Router Tables

Offline jonny round boy

  • Posts: 2664
Fantastic to see an international competition!

I'm not much of a writer (or a TV presenter for that matter!) but I think I'll enter anyway just to show support.
Festoolian since February 2006

TS55R EBQ saw - CTL26 - CTL Mini - OF1400EBQ router - KS120 Kapex SCMS - ETS150/3 sander - RO90 sander - DF500 Domino - PDC18/4 drill - PSC420 jigsaw - OFK500 trimmer

Wish list (in no particular order!): Anything not listed above....

Offline Shane Holland

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6893
    • Festool USA
I'm not much of a writer (or a TV presenter for that matter!) but I think I'll enter anyway just to show support.

Notice there's no prerequisite for being a great writer or camera person.   [wink]  I think visitors to the forum will appreciate the information contained in the reviews regardless of whether the content is written eloquently or even grammatically correct.  I look forward to seeing your review JRB.
Shane Holland | Festool USA | Sales: 888-337-8600 | Service: 800-554-8741 | TS 55 REQ Recall Hotline: 855-784-9727| sho@festoolusa.com



Power Tools, Domino Joiners, RRP HEPA Vacs, Track SawsDrywall Sanders, Cordless Drills, Tools for Painters, Jigsaws, Router Tables

Offline Kevin D.

  • Posts: 710
I assume the review cannot be of my recently acquired MFT 1080 as it is now a discontinued item?

Another question is whether any prize substitution would be allowed for those who already own the Rotex 150 FEQ?
TS75, MFT 1080, MF-SYS/2, PS300 EQ-Plus, Parallel Guides Set, LR32 SYS, RO 150FEQ-Plus, OF1400 EQ Plus, DOMINO 500 Q-Plus,  MFK 700 EQ-Set, FS-SYS/2, CT22 w/hose storage, D36HW-RS-Plus, FS 1900/2, FS 3000/2, FS 1080/2-LR32, FS 1400/2-LR32, Gecko, Festool Hat, Festool T-Shirt (2), Festool Floor Mat, Festool Stein.

Wish List:  Kapex, and more sanders.

Offline GPowers

  • Posts: 1940
  • Metric convert
    • Stargate Unofficiial
If you do not need it, sell it here on the classified section or on E-bay? I think it is great that  Shane does the contests, make it easy on him. He most likely has a bunch of red tape on the corporate side to get this stuff approved. It can be tough to keep going back to the well to get approvals.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2010, 01:25 PM by GPowers »
Greg Powers
Size:XL

Offline Shane Holland

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6893
    • Festool USA
I assume the review cannot be of my recently acquired MFT 1080 as it is now a discontinued item?

Another question is whether any prize substitution would be allowed for those who already own the Rotex 150 FEQ?

Kevin, there's nothing in the rules that prohibits you from reviewing the MFT 1080.  That products is actually on closeout right now and is still available for purchase.  Generally, I would hope that members choose to review a product that can still be purchased.

Since this is our first contest that we've opened up to international forum members, I need to keep the prizes a listed.

Thanks.
Shane Holland | Festool USA | Sales: 888-337-8600 | Service: 800-554-8741 | TS 55 REQ Recall Hotline: 855-784-9727| sho@festoolusa.com



Power Tools, Domino Joiners, RRP HEPA Vacs, Track SawsDrywall Sanders, Cordless Drills, Tools for Painters, Jigsaws, Router Tables

Offline jonny round boy

  • Posts: 2664
Shane,

could you please clarify the following rule:

  • You may submit reviews of more than one product to increase your chances of winning. Multiple reviews of the same product are not eligible for consideration.

Does this include reviews of different types, ie could someone enter one written review & one video review, both of the same product?

Thanks,

JRB
Festoolian since February 2006

TS55R EBQ saw - CTL26 - CTL Mini - OF1400EBQ router - KS120 Kapex SCMS - ETS150/3 sander - RO90 sander - DF500 Domino - PDC18/4 drill - PSC420 jigsaw - OFK500 trimmer

Wish list (in no particular order!): Anything not listed above....

Offline Shane Holland

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6893
    • Festool USA
Johnny,

You're welcome to do both but only one would be eligible for consideration in the contest. 

However, I suspect you have more than one tool or accessory  [wink]  Maybe a video review of the tool and a written review for an accessory for that tool.  Then both would be eligible.

Shane
« Last Edit: May 08, 2010, 12:26 PM by Shane Holland »
Shane Holland | Festool USA | Sales: 888-337-8600 | Service: 800-554-8741 | TS 55 REQ Recall Hotline: 855-784-9727| sho@festoolusa.com



Power Tools, Domino Joiners, RRP HEPA Vacs, Track SawsDrywall Sanders, Cordless Drills, Tools for Painters, Jigsaws, Router Tables

Offline jonny round boy

  • Posts: 2664
OK, thanks Shane.

I do have more than one thing I could review, but I don't want to review most things I already have, for a couple of reasons:

Firstly, I'd like the review I do to be as useful as possible, to as many people as possible. Reviewing an old product (eg TS55) would for most people not be very helpful, since there are so many reviews out there already that would be far more comprehensive than anything I could do;

Secondly, I've been thinking about the process of writing a review, and it is far easier (at least for me, the way my mind works) to write my thoughts as I explore a product that is new to me. I have tried to do this for stuff I know well already, and found the process to be very difficult.

So for those reasons, I'd like to review one of the newly released products. I feel this would be much easier for me, more informative for the FOG readers, and would give me an excuse to convice the LOML that I really do need that new product. "If you buy me this, I might get a free Rotex, too!" [thumbs up] [thumbs up] [thumbs up]

TBH it's unlikely that I could do a video review justice, so I'll just stick to the written one!

JRB
Festoolian since February 2006

TS55R EBQ saw - CTL26 - CTL Mini - OF1400EBQ router - KS120 Kapex SCMS - ETS150/3 sander - RO90 sander - DF500 Domino - PDC18/4 drill - PSC420 jigsaw - OFK500 trimmer

Wish list (in no particular order!): Anything not listed above....

Offline Wood_Junkie

  • Posts: 1313
So for those reasons, I'd like to review one of the newly released products.

Errrp, this smells like a RO 90 DX review!??    [smile]

Offline jonny round boy

  • Posts: 2664
I wish! Can't stretch to that I'm afraid. I'm not going to say what I'm looking at though - It'd spoil the surprise!
Festoolian since February 2006

TS55R EBQ saw - CTL26 - CTL Mini - OF1400EBQ router - KS120 Kapex SCMS - ETS150/3 sander - RO90 sander - DF500 Domino - PDC18/4 drill - PSC420 jigsaw - OFK500 trimmer

Wish list (in no particular order!): Anything not listed above....

Offline bruegf

  • Posts: 769
  • Michigan
Shane,

Great contest idea, but I think you should cut to the chase and go ahead and send the sander to Brice right now.    His reviews are as good as they get :-)

Fred
Fred

Offline Wood_Junkie

  • Posts: 1313
Shane,

Great contest idea, but I think you should cut to the chase and go ahead and send the sander to Brice right now.    His reviews are as good as they get :-)

Fred

I agree that I think Brice's reviews are very good.  BUT, this contest is to be determined based on submissions and *luck* of the drawing.  That's gives posers like me (us?) a fightin' chance to win.   [wink]

Offline bruegf

  • Posts: 769
  • Michigan
Ah......   I missed the "randomly selected" part.   That does level the playing field.   Sorry Brice, I thought for sure you'd end up w/ a new sander :-)

Fred
Fred

Online Brice Burrell

  • Posts: 6542
  • Remodeling Contractor
    • The Green and Dark Blue blog
Ah......   I missed the "randomly selected" part.   That does level the playing field.   Sorry Brice, I thought for sure you'd end up w/ a new sander :-)

Fred

Aww crap, I had big plans for that new sander. [tongue] Actually, I hadn't planned on doing any new reviews within the time frame of the contest. 
Check out my new blog, The Green and Dark Blue Blog.

Offline jonny round boy

  • Posts: 2664
OK, just posted my first review - it's not the one I mentioned above, but just a smaller, simpler one to get my brain working.
Festoolian since February 2006

TS55R EBQ saw - CTL26 - CTL Mini - OF1400EBQ router - KS120 Kapex SCMS - ETS150/3 sander - RO90 sander - DF500 Domino - PDC18/4 drill - PSC420 jigsaw - OFK500 trimmer

Wish list (in no particular order!): Anything not listed above....

Offline Shane Holland

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6893
    • Festool USA
Just a reminder to everyone about our contest.  This is an opportunity for you to give back a little to our online community and share your experiences with a product with fellow forum members.

I am a disappointed with the number of entries we had in our FOG for Charities contest and we have not had many entries in this contest so far.  I would like to encourage you to participate so Festool can continue to sponsor such events on the forum.

The entry deadline is at the end of this month, June 30th.

Thanks,
Shane
Shane Holland | Festool USA | Sales: 888-337-8600 | Service: 800-554-8741 | TS 55 REQ Recall Hotline: 855-784-9727| sho@festoolusa.com



Power Tools, Domino Joiners, RRP HEPA Vacs, Track SawsDrywall Sanders, Cordless Drills, Tools for Painters, Jigsaws, Router Tables

Offline EcoFurniture

  • Posts: 608
    • Eco Furniture
I would love to make another video... but without a space to create dust and make noise, it's almost impossible to do so.

Offline GPowers

  • Posts: 1940
  • Metric convert
    • Stargate Unofficiial
I am a disappointed with the number of entries we had in our FOG for Charities contest and we have not had many entries in this contest so far.  I would like to encourage you to participate so Festool can continue to sponsor such events on the forum.

The entry deadline is at the end of this month, June 30th.

Thanks,
Shane


I'am in, just posted a review of the Guide Rail.
Review of the Festool Guide Rail
Greg Powers
Size:XL

Offline Shane Holland

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6893
    • Festool USA
Thank you to those who have already created product reviews.  I think we have already seen members benefit from the reviews that have been written and it has done a good job of opening discussions on a variety of topics. 

Let me be not-so-subtle about this...

WRITE A REVIEW!

Time is running out to participate. It's your chance to give back to our online community and share your experiences.  There are two Rotex 150 FEQ sanders ready to be shipped to our winners. Your odds of winning are quite good.

Good luck!
Shane Holland | Festool USA | Sales: 888-337-8600 | Service: 800-554-8741 | TS 55 REQ Recall Hotline: 855-784-9727| sho@festoolusa.com



Power Tools, Domino Joiners, RRP HEPA Vacs, Track SawsDrywall Sanders, Cordless Drills, Tools for Painters, Jigsaws, Router Tables

Offline Shane Holland

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6893
    • Festool USA
Well, as it stands, it looks like the prize for a video review will be forfeited due to lack of any entries in that category.  [blink]

Here are the entries that I currently see in no particular order.  If I have overlooked your entry, please send me a PM or email.  Current odds of winning in the written review category is 1 in 8.  Odds based on the number of entries, which may change between now and the entry deadline.

The entry deadline is next Wednesday, June 30th, 2010.

Thanks to all who have participated thus far.  Good luck to everyone!


Review of Festool DTS 400 EQ (Product No. 567825)
ScotF
5/30/2010

Review of Festool Rotex RO 125 FEQ Plus Sander (571536 US / 571533 EU)
Chris Meggersee
5/18/2010

Review of Festool: Guide Rail FS/2 Product No.: 491 501
GPowers
6/15/2010

Review Of Festool Stickfix Hand Sanding Block, 583129
johnny round boy
5/10/2010

Review of Festool Quick Clamp (491594 EU)
Chris Meggersee
6/5/2010

Review of Festool: ETS 150/5 EQ Random Orbital Sander (product #571738)
GPowers
6/21/2010

REVIEW OF FESTOOL FS-RAPID/1 (489790)
joiner1970
6/16/2010

Review of Festool Workshop Cleaning Set (Product No. 454767)
ScotF
6/11/2010
Shane Holland | Festool USA | Sales: 888-337-8600 | Service: 800-554-8741 | TS 55 REQ Recall Hotline: 855-784-9727| sho@festoolusa.com



Power Tools, Domino Joiners, RRP HEPA Vacs, Track SawsDrywall Sanders, Cordless Drills, Tools for Painters, Jigsaws, Router Tables

Offline Festoolfootstool

  • Posts: 1796
  • The trouble with Bob is its all about Bob
Hello Shane was there not a video review of the parallel guides?
If the milk turns out to be sour, I ain't the kind of **** to drink it.......

Why do Festool accessories only have a two month guarantee here in the UK ?

Offline Shane Holland

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6893
    • Festool USA
Hello Shane was there not a video review of the parallel guides?


The only video of the parallel guides that I recall was done by Roger Muller, who is an employee of a local Festool dealer.  Therefore, his video is not admissible based on the rules of the contest.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2010, 11:39 AM by Shane Holland »
Shane Holland | Festool USA | Sales: 888-337-8600 | Service: 800-554-8741 | TS 55 REQ Recall Hotline: 855-784-9727| sho@festoolusa.com



Power Tools, Domino Joiners, RRP HEPA Vacs, Track SawsDrywall Sanders, Cordless Drills, Tools for Painters, Jigsaws, Router Tables

Offline Festoolfootstool

  • Posts: 1796
  • The trouble with Bob is its all about Bob
Hello Shane was there not a video review of the parallel guides?


The only video of the parallel guides that I recall was done by Roger Muller, who is an employee of a local Festool dealer.  Therefore, his video is not admissible based on the rules of the contest.


Yes thats the one, shame about that as its a good video and im sure it sold a few sets of guides.and I for one have built the table.
If the milk turns out to be sour, I ain't the kind of **** to drink it.......

Why do Festool accessories only have a two month guarantee here in the UK ?

Offline Chris Meggersee

  • Posts: 387
  • I'm addicted to Festools.
Well, as it stands, it looks like the prize for a video review will be forfeited due to lack of any entries in that category[blink]

Does that mean that if someone makes a video before tomorrow they win the rotex or is that the end?
PS300EQ Jigsaw - OF1010EBQ Router - DF500 Domino - RO125FEQ Sander - C12CE Drill - TS55EBQ Saw - CT22E Dust extractor - DTS400 Sander

Wish List: Anything not listed above in the catalogue.

Offline Shane Holland

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6893
    • Festool USA
Does that mean that if someone makes a video before tomorrow they win the rotex or is that the end?

Chris, the deadline is next Wednesday.  If there is only one entry, it would be declared the de facto winner.
Shane Holland | Festool USA | Sales: 888-337-8600 | Service: 800-554-8741 | TS 55 REQ Recall Hotline: 855-784-9727| sho@festoolusa.com



Power Tools, Domino Joiners, RRP HEPA Vacs, Track SawsDrywall Sanders, Cordless Drills, Tools for Painters, Jigsaws, Router Tables

Online Alex

  • Posts: 3386
I thought we had till june 30. I have some reviews up my sleeve, but I haven't had time to work on them yet. I had a really big job the last 3 months that took up all my time. Did pay for 5 new Festools though. And got quite some good use out of them, so I got enough experience. But my job finished yesterday, so now I got time. It is a shame though any review is a 'review'. There's quite a bit more to tell about my new CS70 then there is about a guide rail or a clamp.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2010, 03:12 PM by Alex »

Offline Shane Holland

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6893
    • Festool USA
I thought we had till june 30.

Alex, next Wednesday is June 30.
Shane Holland | Festool USA | Sales: 888-337-8600 | Service: 800-554-8741 | TS 55 REQ Recall Hotline: 855-784-9727| sho@festoolusa.com



Power Tools, Domino Joiners, RRP HEPA Vacs, Track SawsDrywall Sanders, Cordless Drills, Tools for Painters, Jigsaws, Router Tables

Offline Festoolfootstool

  • Posts: 1796
  • The trouble with Bob is its all about Bob
Does that mean that if someone makes a video before tomorrow they win the rotex or is that the end?

Chris, the deadline is next Wednesday.  If there is only one entry, it would be declared the de facto winner.

Go on Chris give it a go [popcorn]
If the milk turns out to be sour, I ain't the kind of **** to drink it.......

Why do Festool accessories only have a two month guarantee here in the UK ?

Online Alex

  • Posts: 3386
Oh, one question, when the contest closes on june 30, does that mean the last entries can be put up on the 29th or the 30th?