Festool Owners Group

GENERAL DISCUSSIONS => Other Tool Reviews => Topic started by: Naildrivingman on August 19, 2017, 08:17 AM

Title: Portable table saw recommendations
Post by: Naildrivingman on August 19, 2017, 08:17 AM
I did a search of threads so not to be redundant. I didn't find any current threads so I am reposting.

I would like recommendations for portable table saws with integral stand. Currently I am using the large Bosch with the gravity rise stand. I have no complaints and would buy it again unless someone has another recommendation near the same price point.

Thanks,
Chris
Title: Re: Portable table saw recommendations
Post by: KescoNY on August 19, 2017, 09:10 AM
I have the bosch, sawstop and the dewalt portable table saws.  I like them all but i prefer the dewalt over the other 2 mainly due to its weight and the reliability of the fence plus the dewalt has the flex volt which i use very often.

Only issue i have with the flex volt is the thin kerf blade. It has a lot of deflection under heavy load. I use a diablo blade instead which depletes the battery a little faster.

It is much easier for me not to use an integrated stand. I set it down where ever i can.  If i need to use it for an extended period of time, i either clamp it to an mft or a centipede.
Title: Re: Portable table saw recommendations
Post by: Holmz on August 19, 2017, 06:52 PM
There is the Erika 85 (and the smaller sisters of 70 and 60)
Title: Re: Portable table saw recommendations
Post by: gunnyr on August 19, 2017, 09:38 PM
I have the Dewalt 7491 with the stand.  On my current job there have been several other saws, including a Delta Contractor Saw (with old school fence and rails), Ridgid and some of the smaller Dewalt table saws.  Mine is always the favorite.  I think there are several reasons; the accuracy and speed of the fence, its easy to set up, the stand makes it stable and at the correct height, and the dust collection.  I use a Diablo rip blade on it, we do everything from framing to interior trim with it.  It easily rips 2x material.  I use either a Ridgid tilting outfeed table or a Paulk table to catch the outfeed.
[attach=1]

My only complaint is that Dewalt does not have a kit to connect dust collection to both the bottom 2 1/2 hose connection and the blade guard 1 1/4 connection!  I exchanged tweets with Dewalt Cust service who were sympathetic to my query but unable to help.  I wonder if the Festool splitter for the CMS router table might be the answer.

The miter gauge leaves a lot to be desired but my HKC 55 excels at cross cutting  ;D [thumbs up] [thumbs up]
Title: Re: Portable table saw recommendations
Post by: JimH2 on August 23, 2017, 09:43 AM
Agree on the no dust collection factory solution. Some type of splitter with a traditional end on it would be perfect and should be available as an accessory since they took the time to add the second dust collection port. I might try and cobble something together.

I am living with the thin kerf blade though I did buy the finer cut blade Dewalt sells which delivers significantly cleaner cuts. I have had some deflection on longer rips and I know it is because of the ultra-thin kerf. Overall I am as happy with a portable tablesaw as I can be and the fact it is cordless puts it over the top. I have the mitre saw and blower (for cleanup) as well and the batteries or never an issue since I can pull one from the mitre saw and switch it to corded and keep on cutting.
Title: Re: Portable table saw recommendations
Post by: RobBob on August 23, 2017, 10:18 AM
Somewhere, I saw that the SawStop Jobsite saw Dust Collection Blade Guard Assembly had been adapted to a Dewalt table saw.  Cannot find where I saw it at the moment, but you may be able to figure something out on your own.

Title: Re: Portable table saw recommendations
Post by: neilc on August 23, 2017, 10:44 PM
Here's what I did to create a splitter box to collect from the saw and the over-blade dust port.

http://festoolownersgroup.com/other-tools-accessories/need-help-choosing-a-compact-table-saw/msg510482/#msg510482
Title: Re: Portable table saw recommendations
Post by: SAB on September 26, 2017, 08:29 AM
The Dewalt DWE7499GD.  You can rip to 32-1/2" to the right.
It has a flip down fend to support wide sheet goods and you can use it for close rip cuts on small stock. 

Title: Re: Portable table saw recommendations
Post by: Job and Knock on November 12, 2017, 06:30 AM
I've had a DW745 for a few years now in job site use. It replaced an older Makita MLS100 saw. The UK version of the DW745 comes with a riving knife/crown guard set-up which is OK but it could do with having a quick fixing for this so that when I need to saw a rebate or do a deeping cut it doesn't take me 5 minutes to get the thing off. DW could also do with supplying a short rip fence plate for safety. On the upside it has reasonable power, the fence adjustment is really good, on the mobile base it is highly portable and its' small size means that it can be carried in the boot (trunk) of a small car with ease. The fencev detached quickly and goes back on in exactly the same place without faffing about. It has a flip-over auxilliary fence for handling bevel cuts without the need to remove the guard and there is a second scale at the front of the saw so your rip width settings don't require calculations. The blade tilt device is both quick to use and accurate. Dust extraction isn't the greatest, but is OK. Overall very happy with the saw despite a few niggles
Title: Re: Portable table saw recommendations
Post by: TXFIVEO on January 04, 2018, 09:53 AM
DEWALT 7490..I bought this in like new condition on Craigslist for $100 and I could not be happier.  It’s lightweight, easy to transport with a small footprint. I really like the Sawstop job site saw but can’t justify the purchase right now with how good this Dewalt has been.  Very impressed with this saw.  Good rip capacity with dado capability.  Can’t ask for more out of this saw at its price point. 
Title: Re: Portable table saw recommendations
Post by: RKA on January 04, 2018, 02:57 PM
I picked up a Skilsaw worm drive saw over the holidays to tide me over until I get the big saw set up in my basement.  I haven’t used it much, but I’m impressed with it so far.  If you can get it with the stand and diablo blade for low $300’s it’s a pretty good saw.  It seems to have plenty of power, even a full kerf blade plowed through softwood with no indication it was breaking a sweat.  And this is the model with the smaller motor.  All the parts store neatly under the table in their respective places making it ideal to take on the go (only the Miter gauge doesn’t lock securely).  Blade guard can be removed in seconds, rising knife is easy to lower as well (all Tool-less).  The blade came aligned to the Miter slot and the fence was also set up correctly, but both look like they might be a chore (trial and error) if they need adjustment.  The fence locks in pretty solid, but I do prefer the dewalt’s rack and pinion.  I think the larger skilsaw offers the rack and pinion fence.  The lower part of the blade is mostly encapsulated with a dust collection port that does a good job.  Above the table dust collection is nil and that’s my biggest gripe with these portable saws.  The scissor stand folds flat and attaches quickly without tools.  I was expecting something less well made for my sub-$300 investment and this exceeded most expectations for a portable saw. 

The improvements I would like to see is fine adjustments to dial in all the components, any kind of provision for above table dust collection and a more secure method of attaching the Miter gauge.
Title: Re: Portable table saw recommendations
Post by: neilc on January 04, 2018, 09:58 PM
Really like the Dewalt Dwe7491rs Table Saw.  Stable, rack and pinion adjustable fence, rip cuts greater than 30", supports a dado blade, quick to setup and tear down.  Good power.  That saw with a finishing blade will do a great job on cabinets or fine work as well!