Author Topic: Who needs an Airstak? Rolair JC10 mod  (Read 1059 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline live4ever

  • Posts: 771
Who needs an Airstak? Rolair JC10 mod
« on: March 19, 2018, 02:14 PM »
My shop, in the process of being downsized and split across 2 locations, has become very systainer stack-based.  As such, the Cadex compressors as well as the Airstak were really tempting despite their high price.  I've always loved my Rolair JC10, especially how quiet it is, so the slightly louder Airstak (according to specs) was going to feel like a downgrade in that regard.

So I made a few simple modifications to my JC10.  First, I added casters in place of the rubber feet.  The existing threaded holes in the rollcage for the rubber feet are M6, and I couldn't easily find M6 stem casters, so I just used cheap 2" plate casters with blocks.  This makes the compressor easy to push around - of course larger casters would be better for traversing cracks, cords, etc., but I also wanted to keep the height as low as possible.

To integrate with systainers, I added a Sys-base on top of the rollcage, adapted with a piece of nasty scrap 3/4" ply.  The ply is held tightly to the rollcage with 4 EMT conduit straps, which are bolted through the ply.  I added small pieces of foam between the straps and rollcage.  I believe I used 3/4" EMT straps.  The assembly is plenty strong - the compressor can easily be picked up using the handles on the Sys-base. 

Nothing terribly elegant but quells my desire for a systainer compressor.  Note that I have the older JC10, which has outward facing gauges.  The newer JC10 Plus has upward facing gauges, so if you wanted to do this with that compressor, you'd need to figure out how to turn them to face out.  That might be trivial but I'm not sure since I don't have one in front of me. 

@Dick Mahany

Sorry for the wacky perspective on the first photo - makes the CT-Sys look rather beastly.
Current systainer to productivity ratio:  very high

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline live4ever

  • Posts: 771
Re: Who needs an Airstak? Rolair JC10 mod
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2018, 02:16 PM »
Apologies for the rotated images...I'd love to know how to fix this.  [embarassed]
Current systainer to productivity ratio:  very high

Offline Dick Mahany

  • Posts: 235
Re: Who needs an Airstak? Rolair JC10 mod
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2018, 02:30 PM »
Thanks @live4ever.  After your post last week, I was inspired to try a similar stack on my noisy Kobalt compressor.  I had an extra T-Loc lid and reinforced it  to attach to the compressor.  It works, but I like your idea better and I'd much prefer the JC10 . I do realize that they changed the gauges to be upward facing on the current models  [sad]

I am really interested in the 60dBA rating of your compressor and I just can't justify the Airstack for the price.  Thanks for posting, it gave me a project for the weekend.



« Last Edit: March 19, 2018, 03:10 PM by Dick Mahany »

Offline copcarcollector

  • Posts: 1415
Re: Who needs an Airstak? Rolair JC10 mod
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2018, 02:43 PM »







Offline RobBob

  • Posts: 1266
Re: Who needs an Airstak? Rolair JC10 mod
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2018, 02:46 PM »
Here's my version on a Sys Roll.





Offline live4ever

  • Posts: 771
Re: Who needs an Airstak? Rolair JC10 mod
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2018, 03:16 PM »
@copcarcollector Thanks!  How’d you do that?

@Dick Mahany Nice job!  Using a lid is definitely a clean way to do it. 

@RobBob I really like that!  I wanted to keep my compressor off the Sys-roll for now, but as the shop gets itself together again I can see your solution working really well for me.  Anything special about the brackets you used?
Current systainer to productivity ratio:  very high

Offline copcarcollector

  • Posts: 1415
Re: Who needs an Airstak? Rolair JC10 mod
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2018, 03:20 PM »
@live4ever No worry. I saved them to my computer and re sized with Photoscape, then re posted here. Nice work BTW!

Offline RobBob

  • Posts: 1266
Re: Who needs an Airstak? Rolair JC10 mod
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2018, 04:11 PM »
@copcarcollector Thanks!  How’d you do that?

@Dick Mahany Nice job!  Using a lid is definitely a clean way to do it. 

@RobBob I really like that!  I wanted to keep my compressor off the Sys-roll for now, but as the shop gets itself together again I can see your solution working really well for me.  Anything special about the brackets you used?
The brackets are ordinary shelf brackets from the big box store.   I used t-nuts in the front t-track of the Sys Roll uprights to hold the brackets on.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: March 19, 2018, 04:15 PM by RobBob »

Offline Dick Mahany

  • Posts: 235
Re: Who needs an Airstak? Rolair JC10 mod
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2018, 04:29 PM »
@copcarcollector Thanks!  How’d you do that?

@Dick Mahany Nice job!  Using a lid is definitely a clean way to do it. 

@RobBob I really like that!  I wanted to keep my compressor off the Sys-roll for now, but as the shop gets itself together again I can see your solution working really well for me.  Anything special about the brackets you used?
The brackets are ordinary shelf brackets from the big box store.   I used t-nuts in the front t-track of the Sys Roll uprights to hold the brackets on.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

That's a slick implementation.  The SysRoll plus the JC10 combined costs less than the AirStack and you have roll-about portability built in.  Nice!