Having trouble with your Festool power tool? Well, we're here to help you. Before posting to the forum, give us a chance to diagnose and resolve your issue. In the U.S. and Canada, call us toll-free at 888-337-8600 on Monday-Friday between 8a-5p EST or contact us via email at service@festoolusa.com. For other countries, please visit http://www.festool.com for contact information for your local Festool service department.

Author Topic: Saw stop pcs  (Read 2281 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pettyconstruction

  • Posts: 529
Saw stop pcs
« on: April 10, 2019, 12:39 AM »
So I’m thinking about getting the PCS and my question is
Is there a special hose adapter that I need? I have 36mm and 27mm Festool hoses.
Also,should I think of a 50mm hose? Anti-static or non?
Thanks in advance,
Charlie


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline Peter_C

  • Posts: 779
Re: Saw stop pcs
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2019, 01:01 AM »
The saw should have dust collection top and bottom. Therefore you are going to need a more industrial dust collector. Sounds like a nice expensive upgrade and kinda hard to bring to a jobsite.

Offline ctvader

  • Posts: 61
Re: Saw stop pcs
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2019, 07:36 AM »
I have the saw stop contractor saw and recently picked up a powertec dust collector plus 4 inch hose for the saw, which totaled about $230.  This makes a world of difference in how much dust is collected.  Before that I was running a rigid shop vac with a Bosch hose.

Offline pettyconstruction

  • Posts: 529
Re: Saw stop pcs
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2019, 08:48 AM »
The saw should have dust collection top and bottom. Therefore you are going to need a more industrial dust collector. Sounds like a nice expensive upgrade and kinda hard to bring to a jobsite.
I think I typed the wrong letters, I want the contractor saw.
Thanks for pointing that out.
So anything needed fo the dust in the job site saw?
Charlie


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Offline Alanbach

  • Posts: 402
Re: Saw stop pcs
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2019, 10:09 AM »
Still a little confused. Sawstop has a Contractors Saw and a Jobsite Saw. Two different animals. I believe that the job site saw has a 2 1/2” dust port and the Contractors has a 4” dust port. Neither the 27mm or the 36mm hose will fit. I don’t know if there is an adapter available to make them fit and I also don’t know if the 50 mm hose (approximately 2”) can be made to fit??? I do believe that both of those saws have optional blade guards with dust collection above the table and your hose should fit onto those. At least mine does. Unfortunately that does not help you for the main dust collection below the table.

Offline pettyconstruction

  • Posts: 529
Re: Saw stop pcs
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2019, 10:12 PM »
Thanks,
That was my question , what do I need to hook up the job site saw to a dust extractor?
Charlie


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Online Jiggy Joiner

  • Posts: 785
Re: Saw stop pcs
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2019, 04:02 AM »
Thanks,
That was my question , what do I need to hook up the job site saw to a dust extractor?
Charlie


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

You need to find out what size dust outlet the saw has for definite, if it’s 4” you will need a 4” pipe from the extractor, with a “Y” connection on the other end, then another length of 4” pipe from the “Y” into the bottom port of the saw, and on the other side of the “Y” you need 4”-2.5” reducer, and a length of 2.5” pipe to your saws blade guard port.

If your saw has a 2.5” bottom port, you will need a 4”-2.5” reducer etc.

So, usually the bigger extractors have a 4” or sometimes 6” inlet port. If it is 4”, you just need reducers and fittings to marry things up in any scenario.

If you’re running multiple machines off one extractor, you need to fit blast gates at each machine, so you can cut off the flow from every machine, except the one in use.
You basically run hard or flexible pipe to your various machine dust ports, using reducers, “Y” branches, bends, elbows and brackets etc. If only using one or two machines, you can share a flexible pipe, that can be attached or removed from one machine to the other.
Hope this makes sense.

Offline cpw

  • Posts: 151
Re: Saw stop pcs
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2019, 08:39 AM »
The PCS has a 4" port, but you just need 1 4" connection, if you purchase the dust collection blade guard it includes an adapter for the blade guard port.

The job site saw has a 2 1/2"port (2 1/4" ID).  For my OSS, which also has a 2 1/2" port, I was able to use this adapter to connect it to a Festool D36 hose, but don't know if it will work with the Sawstop's dust port:
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B0000AV781/ref=oh_aui_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Offline Peter_C

  • Posts: 779
Re: Saw stop pcs
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2019, 06:37 PM »
Easiest way is to use a regular old "shop vac" hose. Like a Home Depot Ridgid hose, Craftsman, etc. That would be the same as a D50 from Festool. You won't get the anti-static of the Festool hoses though.

I personally use this hose, or at least I believe I do. They are in stock in Rohnert Park and Santa Rosa. It is "shop vac" sized. 2 1/2" hose ends are what you want for sure.
https://www.homedepot.com/p/RIDGID-1-7-8-in-x-10-ft-Professional-Grade-Vacuum-Hose-Kit-for-RIDGID-Wet-Dry-Shop-Vacuums-VT2570/100375877?MERCH=REC-_-PIPHorizontal1_rr-_-205576957-_-100375877-_-N

I have a Bosch 4100 saw, and always run it off a separate circuit from the dust collector using an Ivac dust collector switch. I lengthened the Ivac's dual cords, as they were ridiculously short.

Offline leer

  • Posts: 262
Re: Saw stop pcs
« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2019, 06:42 PM »
I have a Laguna 2HP cyclone dust collector that I use on table saw, it works well.  I also use it on my bandsaw, jointer, and planer.  A year after I bought it, I got a CT26 for my track saw (I was using a “roaming” Ridgid shop vac).  I dedicated that Ridgid shop vac to my radial arm saw.  And I have a smaller shop vac I use to clean up at the lathe.
My wife is concerned that I have a “shop vac” fetish.  Is she right?   :)
Lee

Offline pettyconstruction

  • Posts: 529
Re: Saw stop pcs
« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2019, 10:41 PM »
Thanks folks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Offline pettyconstruction

  • Posts: 529
Re: Saw stop pcs
« Reply #11 on: April 12, 2019, 10:43 PM »
Easiest way is to use a regular old "shop vac" hose. Like a Home Depot Ridgid hose, Craftsman, etc. That would be the same as a D50 from Festool. You won't get the anti-static of the Festool hoses though.

I personally use this hose, or at least I believe I do. They are in stock in Rohnert Park and Santa Rosa. It is "shop vac" sized. 2 1/2" hose ends are what you want for sure.
https://www.homedepot.com/p/RIDGID-1-7-8-in-x-10-ft-Professional-Grade-Vacuum-Hose-Kit-for-RIDGID-Wet-Dry-Shop-Vacuums-VT2570/100375877?MERCH=REC-_-PIPHorizontal1_rr-_-205576957-_-100375877-_-N

I have a Bosch 4100 saw, and always run it off a separate circuit from the dust collector using an Ivac dust collector switch. I lengthened the Ivac's dual cords, as they were ridiculously short.
I have that same setup,
Tried it on my miter saw but now may use it for the sawstop.
Thanks Charlie


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro