Author Topic: am I using my VAC SYS incorrectly?  (Read 679 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline online421

  • Posts: 127
am I using my VAC SYS incorrectly?
« on: July 30, 2019, 10:24 PM »
I bought my my VAC SYS over 6 months ago and finally took it out of the sealed box start using it with the OF2200.

Due to the work piece size I have to change the suction head to a smaller one.

When I place the OF2200 on top of the work piece, and push the router around the template, the work piece will start to tilt - it is still clamped onto VAC SYS, just the weight of the router causing the clamping head/suction cap to tilt.

am I using the VAC SYS properly?

PS. The F clamps to clamp the work piece to the template has been taken off when I took the pic

Griggio Unica400
Felder AD951
Masterwood OMB1V
SCM 5 RCS1100
Casadei FV110
Chicago Pneumatics CPRS10500
Ceccato CDX 12
Holytek DC006
Festool DF700XL, LEX3, OF1010, CT36
JLT 190BM2, JLT 79K10
Danfoss VLT 2880
Sicar TOP6

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline neilc

  • Posts: 2711
Re: am I using my VAC SYS incorrectly?
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2019, 10:29 PM »
That piece is large enough to work with the round head it looks like. 

I would not use that head on the Vac Sys with that large a piece when trying to route with the 2200 router.  You will get movement.

It looks like you are vacuuming to the table as well.  I assume you are not seeing any leakage from scratches or other imperfections on the top that might leak air?


Online Cheese

  • Posts: 6288
Re: am I using my VAC SYS incorrectly?
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2019, 10:39 PM »
Like Neil said, I’d definitely use a larger vacuum chuck. In this case...size does matter.  [smile]

Offline online421

  • Posts: 127
Re: am I using my VAC SYS incorrectly?
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2019, 06:09 PM »
That piece is large enough to work with the round head it looks like. 

I would not use that head on the Vac Sys with that large a piece when trying to route with the 2200 router.  You will get movement.

It looks like you are vacuuming to the table as well.  I assume you are not seeing any leakage from scratches or other imperfections on the top that might leak air?

Thanks Neil. the work piece is just slightly over the round head... I will make adjustment and use the Round head.

The table is relatively "flat", however it is not perfectly flat - it leaks air. I had to find a sweet spot for it, the bit that wont leak air happens to be at the corner which is a plus.
Griggio Unica400
Felder AD951
Masterwood OMB1V
SCM 5 RCS1100
Casadei FV110
Chicago Pneumatics CPRS10500
Ceccato CDX 12
Holytek DC006
Festool DF700XL, LEX3, OF1010, CT36
JLT 190BM2, JLT 79K10
Danfoss VLT 2880
Sicar TOP6

Offline DynaGlide

  • Posts: 467
Re: am I using my VAC SYS incorrectly?
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2019, 07:41 PM »
That piece is large enough to work with the round head it looks like. 

I would not use that head on the Vac Sys with that large a piece when trying to route with the 2200 router.  You will get movement.

It looks like you are vacuuming to the table as well.  I assume you are not seeing any leakage from scratches or other imperfections on the top that might leak air?

Thanks Neil. the work piece is just slightly over the round head... I will make adjustment and use the Round head.

The table is relatively "flat", however it is not perfectly flat - it leaks air. I had to find a sweet spot for it, the bit that wont leak air happens to be at the corner which is a plus.

Turn off the suction on the base and use some clamps to secure it to the table. It should make a big difference.
@matts.garage

Offline online421

  • Posts: 127
Re: am I using my VAC SYS incorrectly?
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2019, 09:51 PM »
should have read my manual.

with the suction cap I have installed in the pic above, it can only hold 30kg when work piece is horizontal to the ground.



doesnt take a lot to move 30kg...




Griggio Unica400
Felder AD951
Masterwood OMB1V
SCM 5 RCS1100
Casadei FV110
Chicago Pneumatics CPRS10500
Ceccato CDX 12
Holytek DC006
Festool DF700XL, LEX3, OF1010, CT36
JLT 190BM2, JLT 79K10
Danfoss VLT 2880
Sicar TOP6