Author Topic: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop  (Read 1199 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jacks Moonshiner

  • Posts: 9
Hi there everyone
Here's a small dilly of a pickle I bet few if any know the solution to(tho I do hope I'm wrong of course🙄🤔😜):
Need to hook up an American 110V 150RO Rotex FEQ to a British 240V MIDI I.
I Have a 1500watt Adaptor for the Rotex, and I'm using 240volt electricity (I.e. The MIDI will be hooked up to a 240volt Israeli wall socket).
Now here's my main query:
can the Rotex hook up to the MIDI I (or any Festool Dust Extractor )through the watt-conversion adaptor ?
AND
Will I be able to benefit from the auto start/stop feature on the vac?

Hope I was clear....but here's a small diagram just in case:

⚙----->.       🔌------>         >🌪                ----->⚡️
Rotex.            Adaptor            Dust Extractor.         Wall socket

Thanks so much for any light on this issue!
Great weekend to everyone🌕👌🏻🙏🏻🌷❤️😘😘😘🌸🍊✌🏿️
G



Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline Jiggy Joiner

  • Posts: 704
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2019, 10:04 AM »
Hi and welcome.
I am taking an educated guess now, and saying no. Usually a step down transformer or reducer can put a lot of draw on a socket. Ours often trip domestic supplies as soon as we plug them in.
Secondly, I think as soon as you plug the transformer into the extractor, it will trigger the extractor to start, regardless of whether a tool is attached or not.

I’m a carpenter though, so maybe an electrician know different. Sounds like a bad idea to me though.

Offline DeformedTree

  • Posts: 550
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2019, 10:24 AM »
Yeah, transformer will mess it up.

I have the opposite issue, having 230V tool and 110V extractor.  I tried to find switch setups that would detect the tool, and then turn on the extractor (not powered thru), no real luck. There are some expensive/complicated solutions, but they still boil down to killing power to the extractor.  The other option was just using blutooth button, but that's not as seamless as I wanted.  Some form of current detecting blue tooth button that would stand in for the remote button would be nice, but that doesn't exist. You don't really appreciate how important the autostart is until it's not an option.

Festool just needs to sell 230V extractors in N.America

Offline Alanbach

  • Posts: 352
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2019, 11:38 AM »
There is a company here in the states called I-vac that makes a 220v switch that couples with a 110v line sensor to switch on/off your tools. I just saw a snippet on the net about their products be offered in the UK and the EU soon through a company called Toolovation(?). I’m sure that the US versions have all wrong outlet types, etc. but if they are now going to market in the EU they might work for what you need.

Offline DeformedTree

  • Posts: 550
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2019, 11:59 AM »
There is a company here in the states called I-vac that makes a 220v switch that couples with a 110v line sensor to switch on/off your tools. I just saw a snippet on the net about their products be offered in the UK and the EU soon through a company called Toolovation(?). I’m sure that the US versions have all wrong outlet types, etc. but if they are now going to market in the EU they might work for what you need.

It doesn't switch the tool on and off, it kills power too the tool.    I looked at that as a "solution" but the remote and the switch cost about 200 dollars.  And I don't like how it kills power to the vac instead of telling it to turn off.

Offline Alanbach

  • Posts: 352
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2019, 02:04 PM »
All I know is that I have used them for years with no issue whatsoever. They work great!

Offline Birdhunter

  • Posts: 2608
  • Woodworker, Sportsman, Retired
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2019, 03:09 PM »
I have an IVAC system that senses when my 220volt SawStop table saw is powered up. It turns on the Festool vac that is attached to the overarm blade guard and dust collector. The IVAC stays on for a few seconds after the saw is stopped. There is a sensor that clamps around the saw’s power cord and a command module that turns the vac off and on.

The sensor detects current flow for any voltage. The command module has to be consistent with the voltage.

The IVAC people were very helpful in educating me when I was investigating solutions.

The system has been trouble free.
Birdhunter

Offline Jacks Moonshiner

  • Posts: 9
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2019, 05:07 PM »
Ok great stuff thanks everyone,
Would I be better off you guys think, to just get a  110v extractor and a bigger transformer ?

Offline Jacks Moonshiner

  • Posts: 9
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2019, 05:10 PM »
Btw I tried checking IVAC/Toolovation but no luck(It IS midnight round here right now so I'll check again tomorrow when I'm less ghoulish)

Offline Jacks Moonshiner

  • Posts: 9
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2019, 08:08 PM »
Well I just spent the past hour n a half checkin out prices for the 110v MIDI on EBay,and I can't seem to find one that's as cheap as the 230v one I had my eyes on.
In fact they are about 150% pricier it seems and I'm too darn tired to do the real micro nano super fine detail scrutiny here , and even then even if I did find an AS cheap one I still have to deal with getting a 3000watt minimum ,transformer,
Which ain't too cheap itself, and I'm still on my payments for the 1500watt one I just got for the Rotex.
Sooooo....I gather I'll stick to the 230v MIDI, order a Bluey remote, and hope for the best.
If ,one of these days I'll manage to get me claws on an o so nice 2200 OF , I'll make sure it's a 230v and plug that muther straight into the extractor so I can finally feel good about myself for makin one good decision in this pitiful life of mine(take all this with a pinch of salt,yes?😜😂😂😂😂😂🙏🏻💙❤️👌🏻)AND get the auto start to work on THAT one at least!
Very,very late,very very tired.😴😜😴😜😴😜😴
Ok guys thanks very much for all the help, I'll still follow up on that IVAC thingie tomorrow,much obliged 🙏🏻💜💛🌕🌷✌🏿️🍊🌸👹🐻💤

Offline Jacks Moonshiner

  • Posts: 9
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #10 on: August 10, 2019, 03:51 PM »
https://www.toolovation.co.uk/product_p/sb24013_uk.htm
Thanks Alanbach!
I'll order one I think soon as I get the dough.
Question is will this work with the Rotex going through the transformer hooked up to the IVAC switch....(dumb question?)🤔🙄😏🤗

Offline Alanbach

  • Posts: 352
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2019, 06:31 PM »
Just make sure before you buy it that you talk to the Toolovation people about your specific application. You are trying to activate a 220 V vacuum with a 110v tool plugged into a 220v transformer as the trigger.

 I-vac has a whole line of products here in the states to accommodate almost any situation. I am not sure what exactly they are offering in the UK but I would think that Toolovation would want to help you get it right the first time.

Offline Jacks Moonshiner

  • Posts: 9
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2019, 11:19 PM »
Gotcha on that.
Soon as I'm ready I'll contact them ....great to know there are a few approaches/multiple solutions to this thing.
Thanks so much again,To you Alanbach 🎼🎹🔧,and everyone else for the help.😸🙏🏻😘
DeformedTree 🌳🌀🗯I'll start working on yer idea for pulse activated auto start☢📴
😜😜😜
No,seriously though,hope someone finds the tech for that,great idea.
Ok over and out.
Peace to all.
☸🕉☯☮🙏🏻👌🏻💜❤️💙😘💛🎼🌳

Offline Jiggy Joiner

  • Posts: 704
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #13 on: August 11, 2019, 04:07 AM »
A much simpler, and probably safer option would be to plug the transformer into an outlet, plug the sander into that, and an extension lead if needed. Then plug the Midi into an outlet, with a bluetooth remote button on the end of the hose.

Start the Midi with the button, start the sander and away. You can then use other 110v tools in the same way.

I sometimes use our 110v site tools in the workshop, in the same manner, very easy.

Offline Jacks Moonshiner

  • Posts: 9
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #14 on: August 11, 2019, 06:28 AM »
Yeah Jiggy that was the original fall-back,if the hook-up-auto-start failed to yield any fruit.
A good friend once said:The first,simple idea is perfection itself, any Didly-Dadling after that will only get you into trouble and ,eventually,you'll just go back to the original "idea".
Another good friend said:Gezundteit
😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜
Anyway ,I'm now ordering the Bluey remote ,the Vac'll be shipped in the next few days probably, and it seems that for now I'll go that way.
I don't have any experience with any of the methods nor have I used a Festool CT before , but I wanted to see if I can narrow down the amount of sockets im using ,and cables flying off in too many directions,but yeah it's no big deal and if the remote and vac work with the Rotex just fine and all is needed is the extra push of the Bluetooth remote button for the vac ...im a happy camper!
Thank you Festool!👌🏻🙏🏻😜❤️💙

And thanks again guys for your KFE(knowledge from experience).
Cheers and great week/weekend comin up ahead to everyone 😃😄😍😌😊😘😘😘💘💓💝💗💟💕💖💞💜💙❤️💛💚

Offline Jiggy Joiner

  • Posts: 704
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #15 on: August 11, 2019, 02:38 PM »
Good luck with whatever method you settle on. Let us know how it goes 👍🏻

Offline Jacks Moonshiner

  • Posts: 9
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #16 on: August 13, 2019, 03:31 AM »
Thanks Jiggy,I'll update once the CT gets here (en route to Israel as we speak!!cant wait....🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻👌🏻😋).

Thought I'd run you guys through another thing I just came across,it's not directly Festool related but concerns the wattage/step down conversion issues we talked about here, so I hope it's ok I'm bringing it up here @fog.

Anyway I just read somewhere, that for Power Tools the transformer size has to be about 3,4 times bigger than the tool wattage....otherwise some degradation or heat up occurs.
I'm running the Rotex through a 1500w max transformer, and if I understand correctly it's a 770 watt machine . So that's around twice the wattage,which I thought would be more than safe.

What you guys think? Is the x3/4 statement true ? Is 1500w enough?

My dads an electrician (sorta,among other things) but not by trade and he's kinda rusty and sick of my nagging and questioning him on the issue so he gives me not so dependable solutions sometimes...("yeah son u can stick yer finger in the wall socket it's totally safe....".🤔🙄🤖💀⚡️⚡️⚡️😜) I'll run the issue by him,but thought I'de go here first to get some 2nd,3rd etc. opinions.

Ok thanks for any advice fellas, hope my long rants r ok and not too tiring.🤔🙄💤💤💤💤💤💤😜😜😜❤️😘
Have a good 'un in the meantime.
🙏🏻💜
☮☯
« Last Edit: August 13, 2019, 03:34 AM by Jacks Moonshiner »

Offline threesixright

  • Posts: 321
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #17 on: August 13, 2019, 04:34 PM »
So if the tool after all starts failing (i.e. burns out), it's the vendors fault?  :o

I thought I read somewhere on the forum, something about tools burning out [big grin]. I guess just sticking a 110v in to a 220v outlet will just do that. As designed [tongue]

Offline Jacks Moonshiner

  • Posts: 9
Re: Hooking up 110v tool to 240volt Dust Extractor for auto start/stop
« Reply #18 on: August 14, 2019, 05:50 AM »
Huh?
No no no .no sure you read me right there thresixright. The tool is hooked up to a wattage reducer/transformer that ,if using the appropriate, 'nuff sized transformer,should glide smooth.
I've already used the Rotex in this manner,albeit for relatively brief sessions,with a 2x watt transformer(max 1500 watts,RO150 Rotex is 720w), and was A-OK.
However, I m trying to making sure that if the statement I read is true(that I need a 2000-3000+- watt transformer) prolonged sessions may pose a problem...(?)
Got it?
Or did I not get what you explained?