Author Topic: Systainer cable holder mod  (Read 26882 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Chris Meggersee

  • Posts: 387
  • I'm addicted to Festools.
Systainer cable holder mod
« on: June 28, 2010, 02:02 PM »
This is a very simple and easy fix to something that has been annoying me for a little while. You see the whole point to the "Plug-it" cable is that you only need one cable to use any of your tools.

This is a great idea and still one of Festools best, however I found this happening to me.


Well now if I have to take the cable out anyway every time I want to use the tool I might as well use that cable. Kind of making that aspect of plug-it redundant.

So I set about fixing the problem. "Where could I put the cable without it interfering with me taking the Festool out and somewhere that is not fully utilised?" is what I thought. I then proceeded to open the Systainer and hit me like a brick to the head "The lid!"


This was the challenge.


This is what it looked like after the extras were taken off.

Then I noticed these:

And I thought that is the perfect place to start.

Next up was how to hold the cable without messing with the lid too much. I tried a couple of bent screws but they didn't work too well.

So I grabbed one of these:



Screwed it in and it seemed to fit perfectly.

Note: be careful when screwing in, I found that the plastic was stressing/going white with the size of cup hook I was using and I would guess that it wouldn't take a much bigger one. I used a 30mm (1.18 inch) cup hook.
Also don't screw it in too far. On my test run with a spare systainer I found the original screw I used could poke through the top of the systainer.


It ended up looking like this.


The test run seemed to go well.

At this point I was worried that either the cup hooks or the cable were going to catch on my TS55 or on the edge of the body of the systainer. To my relief there was no problem at all.


As you can see the latches are open and the lid is just resting on the body and with the gap as small as that there surely couldn't be any catching.




I'm proud to say this has to be easiest fix I've ever done. To be brutally honest I have no idea why Festool haven't done something similar or at least make a designated place for the cable to go. I mean it really can't cost that much to adjust the plastic mould of the lid to have rod like protrusions to hold the body of the cable and two plastic clips (Like those on vacuum cleaners) for the two ends. Oh well.

Oh, if you want to get really fancy I thought about adding these to hold the two ends properly:


**UPDATE

After trying this with all my systainers and tools I found it works for all of mine (see below for a list) with some fiddling. The exception was my Trion jigsaw, since it came in a Sytainer 1 it was going to be tough from the start. I could close it with the cable wrapped around the cup hooks but the pressure I had to apply I felt was too much and I scrapped it for the trion.

This is what I mean by "fiddling"

I cut it down a bit. This is great because it could then be screwed all the way into the systainer without worry that it would poke a hole in the top.

The tools that worked for me:
OF1010 Router
TS55 Saw
RO125 Sander
DF500 Domino
« Last Edit: June 29, 2010, 11:40 AM by Chris Meggersee »
PS300EQ Jigsaw - OF1010EBQ Router - DF500 Domino - RO125FEQ Sander - C12CE Drill - TS55EBQ Saw - CT22E Dust extractor - DTS400 Sander

Wish List: Anything not listed above in the catalogue.

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline Brice Burrell

  • Posts: 7393
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2010, 02:17 PM »
Brilliant! I think most guys tend to use one cord attached to the vac so we have a surplus of cords. However, we don't dare take them out of the Systainer for fear of not having a cord on the job. Problem is them end up in the way half of the time. On the lid is nicely out of the way. Well done my friend!

Offline Greg Powers

  • Posts: 2330
  • Metric convert
    • Stargate Unofficiial
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2010, 02:22 PM »
I solved the problem by just taking the Plug-it out of the systainer and storing it on the shelf. But it could get lost or mis-placed. I like this solution better. Thanks for the tip.

Greg
Greg Powers
Size:XL

Offline Dan Rush

  • Posts: 608
  • Trim carpenter
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2010, 02:27 PM »
Very, very cool.  I'm always looking for ways to be efficent and use "found" space.  Nice find!

Brice:  Like you, I worry about not having a cord when I take it out of the box.  I cheat by stuffing an extra plug-it under the seat of my car.  ( I store the larger cord so it will work with all plug-it's recepticles)

Dan

Offline WarnerConstCo.

  • Posts: 4184
    • Warner Mill Works
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2010, 02:43 PM »
I only have 2 tools that have a darn plug-it cord.

I keep the one for my 55 on it at all times and my rotex is the other one.

All my other Festool's have regular cords.



Offline windmill man

  • Posts: 671
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2010, 02:45 PM »
 Brilliant, just brilliant [big grin]. this is what FOG is all about.

John

Offline Brice Burrell

  • Posts: 7393
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2010, 02:50 PM »
...Brice:  Like you, I worry about not having a cord when I take it out of the box.  I cheat by stuffing an extra plug-it under the seat of my car.  ( I store the larger cord so it will work with all plug-it's recepticles)

Dan

Good idea.

Offline harry_

  • Posts: 1343
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2010, 02:55 PM »
brilliant ideas guys. I had to "de-nub" one of my cords cuz i didnt have the right one with me one day, now I have to buy 2 cords! grrrr
Disclaimer: This post is for educational and entertainment purposes only. Any resemblance to real persons, living or dead is purely coincidental. Void where prohibited. Some assembly required. Batteries not included. Contents may settle during shipment. Use only as directed. No other warranty expressed or implied. This is not an offer to sell securities. May be too intense for some viewers. No user-serviceable parts inside. Subject to change without notice. One size fits all (very poorly).

Offline Neill

  • Posts: 889
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2010, 03:24 PM »
Chris,

As everyone has indicated, this is truly a great resolution to a problem.  Also, like all your other posts, well written and illustrated.  I think you are missing your true calling.

Along the lines of the plug-it cord, I was thinking yesterday as to why every tool that needs a plug-it cord has to come with a plug-it cord.  They retail for about $35.  Why not reduce the tool price by that amount, or something along those lines, and buy the one or two cords we need only once as a separate item?  I don't really need 12 plug-it cords.

Neill
Kapex, Domino, MFT/3, Rotex 150 FEQ, CT 22E, TS 55, RS2E Orbital Sander, C12 Drill, 1400 Router, Rotex 90 DX, Rotex 125 FEQ, LS 130 EQ Linear, Parallel Guide Set, Deltex 93 E, Trion 300 Barrell Grip, ETS 150/3 EQ, ES125 EQ, Guide Rail Accessory Kit, Sanding Block, various rails, systainers, sortainers, vacuum hoses and accessories for various tools.

Offline Chris Meggersee

  • Posts: 387
  • I'm addicted to Festools.
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2010, 03:25 PM »
Chris,

As everyone has indicated, this is truly a great resolution to a problem.  Also, like all your other posts, well written and illustrated.  I think you are missing your true calling.

Along the lines of the plug-it cord, I was thinking yesterday as to why every tool that needs a plug-it cord has to come with a plug-it cord.  They retail for about $35.  Why not reduce the tool price by that amount, or something along those lines, and buy the one or two cords we need only once as a separate item?  I don't really need 12 plug-it cords.

Neill

This is a good point, however I think for Festool to mass produce the cord it would work out a little cheaper than $35 and with the price you already pay you expect to get everything unless you are happy paying $30 dollars less on a tool? Also this would make a life a little more complex for those who do not own Festools previously. Put yourself in their shoes: You are buying a brand new tool that is helishly expensive but you know it's good. Suddenly when placing the order your dealer tells you "Oh it doesn't come with a power cord"... Can you imagine how bad that would be?

Again what you guys are saying is why I am surprised Festool haven't come up with a simple solution like this. I also thought of taking the cable out but like you said then you risk not having one when you leave the shop.

Does anyone know what those holes are meant to be used for?
« Last Edit: June 28, 2010, 03:30 PM by Chris Meggersee »
PS300EQ Jigsaw - OF1010EBQ Router - DF500 Domino - RO125FEQ Sander - C12CE Drill - TS55EBQ Saw - CT22E Dust extractor - DTS400 Sander

Wish List: Anything not listed above in the catalogue.

Offline Neill

  • Posts: 889
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2010, 03:50 PM »
Chris,

Your point is well taken.  To play devil's advocate... When I buy a drill it doesn't come with bits.  When I buy a jigsaw it does not come with blades.

With some of the new li-ion tools you buy the naked tools and the batteries and charger separately since they are all interchangeable.  Same difference to me as buying a plug-it.

The total price for the tool would hypothetically remain the same if you want it to, tool + cord.

I know that I am contradicting my own argument, but to be honest I would not want to buy the tool if it did not have a cord, regardless of how many I had.

I guess I am just asking the question.  Saving the cost of a cord might be attractive to many buyers.  As GPowers stated, he takes his and just throws it up on a shelf.  A dedicated Festool user could easily have $3-400 worth of cords gathering dust and taking up space.

Neill
Kapex, Domino, MFT/3, Rotex 150 FEQ, CT 22E, TS 55, RS2E Orbital Sander, C12 Drill, 1400 Router, Rotex 90 DX, Rotex 125 FEQ, LS 130 EQ Linear, Parallel Guide Set, Deltex 93 E, Trion 300 Barrell Grip, ETS 150/3 EQ, ES125 EQ, Guide Rail Accessory Kit, Sanding Block, various rails, systainers, sortainers, vacuum hoses and accessories for various tools.

Offline Chris Meggersee

  • Posts: 387
  • I'm addicted to Festools.
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2010, 04:16 PM »
Niell,

I can understand what you are saying but having a cord is the standard. There is no other tool out there that has a separate cable therefore the tool has to come with a power source being the cable since you can't detatch the cable. Thus it has always been with a corded tool that you get the cord :) On the flip side it also the standard (although from my last cheap black & decker buy it seems to be changing) that the drill doesn't come with bits.
PS300EQ Jigsaw - OF1010EBQ Router - DF500 Domino - RO125FEQ Sander - C12CE Drill - TS55EBQ Saw - CT22E Dust extractor - DTS400 Sander

Wish List: Anything not listed above in the catalogue.

Offline harry_

  • Posts: 1343
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2010, 04:25 PM »
Niell,

I can understand what you are saying but having a cord is the standard. There is no other tool out there that has a separate cable therefore the tool has to come with a power source being the cable since you can't detatch the cable. Thus it has always been with a corded tool that you get the cord :) On the flip side it also the standard (although from my last cheap black & decker buy it seems to be changing) that the drill doesn't come with bits.

Correction. Bosch circular & reciprocating saws do not come with a cord. It us usually included as a "special offer". like it's included, but not really included. Both are however made to accept an extension cord directly into the tool.

Unfortunately the reciprocating saw is G A R B A G E. I hate using it, because the repair shop is no where near my jobs. From it's physical condition you would never think that it has been in for repair 4x.

As for Festool, I would be THRILLED if they put in similar hooks, or included them for me to put in. But then we wouldn't buy as many replacement cords [sad]
Disclaimer: This post is for educational and entertainment purposes only. Any resemblance to real persons, living or dead is purely coincidental. Void where prohibited. Some assembly required. Batteries not included. Contents may settle during shipment. Use only as directed. No other warranty expressed or implied. This is not an offer to sell securities. May be too intense for some viewers. No user-serviceable parts inside. Subject to change without notice. One size fits all (very poorly).

Offline Dovetail65

  • Posts: 4619
    • Rose Farm Floor Medallions and Inlays
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2010, 04:53 PM »
I believe only the crappy Bosch RS20 reciprocating saw and its sister crappy Bosch circular saw don't come with cords. Which to me is stupid. The better Bosch tools(like the Bosch RS35 -A fantastic saw) do come with the cords.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2010, 04:55 PM by nickao »
The one who says it can't be done should avoid interrupting the person doing it.

Offline harry_

  • Posts: 1343
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2010, 05:17 PM »
I actually like my circular saw, forget what model it is. Cuts & cuts & cuts, just like it is supposed to. I have put diamond blades in it and cut asphalt & concrete with it.

As for not having a cord on it, I kind of like that too as it has a dedicated 25 footer on it. I have always hated how most tools for the US market come with 6 footers, so I am just as happy to not have it.
Disclaimer: This post is for educational and entertainment purposes only. Any resemblance to real persons, living or dead is purely coincidental. Void where prohibited. Some assembly required. Batteries not included. Contents may settle during shipment. Use only as directed. No other warranty expressed or implied. This is not an offer to sell securities. May be too intense for some viewers. No user-serviceable parts inside. Subject to change without notice. One size fits all (very poorly).

Offline Alex

  • Posts: 7778
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #15 on: June 28, 2010, 05:27 PM »
Correction. Bosch circular & reciprocating saws do not come with a cord.

I think this is in America only. I have never seen such a saw with such a cord anywhere, in real life or on the net. I doubt it is even allowed here were I live.

Offline woodguy7

  • Posts: 2727
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #16 on: June 28, 2010, 05:44 PM »
Chris

Nice one on the cord storage.  Has anyone tried the "green" plug it cords ?  They are much nicer to use & supposedly don't leave black marks on floors n stuff.  Plus it just looks cool  [thumbs up]

Woodguy
If its made of wood, i can make it smaller.
Shirt size medium
p.s- ive started reading these too

Offline Greg Powers

  • Posts: 2330
  • Metric convert
    • Stargate Unofficiial
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #17 on: June 28, 2010, 06:05 PM »
Chris

Nice one on the cord storage.  Has anyone tried the "green" plug it cords ?  They are much nicer to use & supposedly don't leave black marks on floors n stuff.  Plus it just looks cool  [thumbs up]

Woodguy

Would be nice is you could get them in the USA!
Greg Powers
Size:XL

Offline windmill man

  • Posts: 671
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #18 on: June 28, 2010, 06:06 PM »
No not used them woodguy but seen them at the dealers, you have one, any good?

John

Offline woodguy7

  • Posts: 2727
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #19 on: June 28, 2010, 07:45 PM »
Sorry Greg, didn't realise you couldn't get that either.  Jeez, whats wrong with Festool, its only a lead for goodness sake.

John, yes i like it a lot.  Kinda stiffer than the black ones but still really easy to wind up for packing away.  I got one to match the pig tail i fitted to my multi master.  I may get another one to keep on top of my Cleantex all the time.  Being green it should be really easy to find straight away.

Woodguy.
If its made of wood, i can make it smaller.
Shirt size medium
p.s- ive started reading these too

Offline Greg Powers

  • Posts: 2330
  • Metric convert
    • Stargate Unofficiial
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #20 on: June 28, 2010, 07:51 PM »
Woodguy, we can not even get the tool end of the plug-it cord to convert non-festool power tools over to the plug-it system.

The USA is way behind other markets.
Greg Powers
Size:XL

Offline Rob-GB

  • Posts: 1101
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #21 on: June 29, 2010, 12:11 AM »
A large part of the decision process may well have been that Festools are made with the professional woodworker in mind.

I have worked in a Schreinerei in Germany and all tools were provided for use by the owner, even hand tools. It was my first contact with Festool tooling too.

Can you imagine having one lead and three people wanting to use different tools!  [eek] My boss would not have bought more leads than he had too, he used to complain about us turning on the table saw twice for one job!!! ;D
Rob.




Offline Chris Meggersee

  • Posts: 387
  • I'm addicted to Festools.
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #22 on: June 29, 2010, 11:42 AM »
Back to the topic...

Anyone know what those holes I am using are meant for?

I don't want to tell everyone to use them when Festool might have this great thing that screws in there that creates world peace and now I've told everyone this which  has made the holes to big so world peace wont fit in the systainer anymore :(
« Last Edit: June 29, 2010, 01:06 PM by Chris Meggersee »
PS300EQ Jigsaw - OF1010EBQ Router - DF500 Domino - RO125FEQ Sander - C12CE Drill - TS55EBQ Saw - CT22E Dust extractor - DTS400 Sander

Wish List: Anything not listed above in the catalogue.

Offline Tom Bellemare

  • Inactive Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5148
  • Festool demo's & personal service in Central Texas
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #23 on: June 29, 2010, 11:45 AM »
'Could be for the Trafalmadorians.


Tom

Offline Dovetail65

  • Posts: 4619
    • Rose Farm Floor Medallions and Inlays
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #24 on: June 29, 2010, 12:15 PM »
Woodguy, we can not even get the tool end of the plug-it cord to convert non-festool power tools over to the plug-it system.

The USA is way behind other markets.

Well that is not exactly true. You can order them through eBay. I have about 6 of them sitting in my shop and have converted over a Fein and a few other tools as well as changing my RS2 with the plug it's. You can get the green cords as well.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2010, 12:16 PM by nickao »
The one who says it can't be done should avoid interrupting the person doing it.

Offline Brice Burrell

  • Posts: 7393
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #25 on: June 29, 2010, 03:17 PM »
Back to the topic...

Anyone know what those holes I am using are meant for?

I don't want to tell everyone to use them when Festool might have this great thing that screws in there that creates world peace and now I've told everyone this which  has made the holes to big so world peace wont fit in the systainer anymore :(

Chris, Tanos (the manufacturer of Systainers) makes a few inserts that can be screwed to the lid, that's why the holes are there.

Offline Chris Meggersee

  • Posts: 387
  • I'm addicted to Festools.
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #26 on: June 29, 2010, 04:18 PM »
I didn't know that. Thanks Brice. Is there anything good made that would go there?
PS300EQ Jigsaw - OF1010EBQ Router - DF500 Domino - RO125FEQ Sander - C12CE Drill - TS55EBQ Saw - CT22E Dust extractor - DTS400 Sander

Wish List: Anything not listed above in the catalogue.

Offline Corwin

  • Posts: 2646
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #27 on: June 29, 2010, 04:50 PM »
I didn't know that. Thanks Brice. Is there anything good made that would go there?

Hey Chris,

Check out Seth's post on talkFestool that discusses these lid inserts.

Offline Greg Powers

  • Posts: 2330
  • Metric convert
    • Stargate Unofficiial
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #28 on: June 30, 2010, 12:30 AM »
hat is not exactly true. You can order them through eBay. I have about 6 of them sitting in my shop and have converted over a Fein and a few other tools as well as changing my RS2 with the plug it's. You can get the green cords as well.

Cna you PM me ther sellers name?
Greg Powers
Size:XL

Offline Sometimewoodworker

  • Posts: 787
    • Jerome's  Other work
Re: Systainer cable holder mod
« Reply #29 on: June 30, 2010, 06:26 AM »
Niell,

I can understand what you are saying but having a cord is the standard. There is no other tool out there that has a separate cable

Sorry that is not true. My Kress jigsaw has a separate cable.

http://spareparts.kress-elektrik.de/de/catalogue/frames.php?sel=318&artikelno=06032801&KRESS-SPAREPARTS=300f1ff37f1798c707ced77e88912e38

There may well be others with detachable cables as well.
Jerome
TS55, OF1400, Elu MOF96, Rotex150, DTS400, ETS150/3 Domino, MFK700, CXS, HL 850, Trend T11, Makita LS1212, Original Mini CV06 Cyclone, Workshop supplies drum sander, & WoodRat. Don't have don't want list: MFT
http://www.flickr.com/photos/nui-jerome/