Having trouble with your Festool power tool? Well, we're here to help you. Before posting to the forum, give us a chance to diagnose and resolve your issue. In the U.S. and Canada, call us toll-free at 888-337-8600 on Monday-Friday between 8a-5p EST or contact us via email at service@festoolusa.com. For other countries, please visit http://www.festool.com for contact information for your local Festool service department.

Author Topic: 1400 depth stop turret "play"  (Read 4474 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dan1210

  • Posts: 270
1400 depth stop turret "play"
« on: March 19, 2011, 04:27 AM »
Hi there, this is my first post so please be kind...having recently acquired a 1400 router 2nd hand im having a few issues with it let me explain, first off can i say the router has had very little use and is practically new albeit without a fence grrr but ill get to that in a sec, the first issue was a loose locking handle which i corrected via the tightening of the nut on the connecting rod (no probs) the 2nd thing thats been bugging me is the depth stop turret, having used it the other day for some profiling i set the depth for consistent cuts and noticed sometimes i was getting slightly different results, it seems there is a tiny bit of play at the base of the turret maybe 0.5mm but it bothers me as i always have to make sure if have plunged the router enough to loose that 0.5mm play does anyone else have this issue? my nearest dealer is quite a drive and not very helpful at that.
Regards Daniel.
Festooligan since 2006

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline Kristian

  • Posts: 205
Re: 1400 depth stop turret "play"
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2011, 04:59 AM »
Hi Dan

This is a well-know "feature" of the 1400. I wouldn't call it an error since it seems to be designed this way. I experienced the same problem when I first bought my 1400 but searching this forum I found that others had the same issue and I haven't worried about it since. You just have to take the play into account when you're setting your depth like you have already discovered.

Check this thread:
http://festoolownersgroup.com/festool-tools-accessories/problems-with-depth-of-cut-with-of1400-**solved**/

Reply #10 from Dave explains it quite well.

Congratulations on the router. I'm sure you will enjoy using it.

- Kristian
« Last Edit: March 19, 2011, 05:03 AM by Kristian »

Offline jonny round boy

  • Posts: 3227
Re: 1400 depth stop turret "play"
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2011, 05:03 AM »
Dan,

Welcome! Always good to see more Brits on here.

As Kristian has said, it's a 'feature' on all 1400s. You just have to make sure you plunge hard enough to depress the turret stop that extra bit. Having said that though, I don't think it's unique to the 1400 or even Festool - every router I've ever used has had some play in the turret. Some (like the 1400) more than others, but they all have it (at least in my experience).
Festoolian since February 2006

TS55R EBQ saw - CTL26 - CTL Mini - OF1400EBQ router - KS120 Kapex SCMS - ETS150/3 sander - RO90 sander - DF500 Domino - PDC18/4 drill - PSC420 jigsaw - OFK500 trimmer

Wish list (in no particular order!): Anything not listed above....

Offline Dan1210

  • Posts: 270
Re: 1400 depth stop turret "play"
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2011, 05:17 AM »
Thanks guys phew thought it was just mine...yeh i love the router it fells great although will take some getting used to, im coming from a dewalt 625ek which has been fantastic over the 6 yrs ive been using it, the reason for the change was i wanted to go all fez im regularly cutting worktop joints and have my ts55 and psb 300 jiggy and ctl mini set-up, the ease of quickly swapping over with the plug it sytem is great and i thought having the router aswell would increase my fitting speed (and precision, althought the dewalt gives me great results) not too mention the dust extraction, dont think ive had the turret issue on the dewalt but im not complaining the festool, quality is undeniable and worth every penny, my 55 saw has taken a beating over the 4yrs ive had it and cut out when pushed really hard on some joinery projects (used it to remove stock for half lap joints on some large roof trusses i made, not advisable!) great machine if it died tomorrow i'd have to buy another immediately, now i can stop worrying and look forward to cutting my first joint with the 1400, cheers.
Festooligan since 2006

Offline Mauri Motti

  • Posts: 355
Re: 1400 depth stop turret "play"
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2011, 07:15 PM »
I'm planning on getting a 1010 or 1400 in the nearby future for use in combination with the VS 600 for dovetailing and haven't heard or even thought of the feature. I would assume this issue would have a huge effect on the fit of the dovetail. So the solution is "just" plunging all the way?

Mauri

Offline Dan1210

  • Posts: 270
Re: 1400 depth stop turret "play"
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2011, 06:23 PM »
It seems so mauri, just have to make sure you take that into account when setting up, i think its pretty poor design but seems a neccessity as the turret has a nice feel as you turn it and reassuringly clicks into each slot, a little annoying but i can live with it, the router feels great in use with hardly any vibration.
Festooligan since 2006

Offline Deke

  • Posts: 242
Re: 1400 depth stop turret "play"
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2011, 12:11 AM »
Just a FYI, but I have cut a number of dovetails, half blind and through, with my OF1400 using an Akeda jig and have not had any depth, fitting, inconsistency issues and I never even knew the 1400 had this "feature"!

Offline Les Spencer

  • Posts: 487
Re: 1400 depth stop turret "play"
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2011, 03:14 PM »
The 1010 and 1400 both have this. There is a spring under the turret. When setting depth make sure you use enough down pressure to remove the slop. It becomes second nature the more you use the router.
Les (near Indy) XL