Author Topic: Best power supply for Planex and vacum?  (Read 4756 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline GyprocJointer

  • Posts: 5
Best power supply for Planex and vacum?
« on: May 13, 2013, 08:28 PM »
In the list below is the technical data for CTM 36 E AC-PLANEX GB 110V
Ref: 584061 and the Long Reach Sander - PLANEX LHS 25 EQ - Plus GB
Ref: 571578...

Long-reach sander LHS 225
- Technical data
# Power consumption 500 W
# Idle engine speed 310-920 min­¹
# Grinding disk Ø 225 mm
# Connection Ø d/e 36 mm
# Weight 4,6 kg

Dust-extractor SRM 45 E-PLANEX - approved for dust class M
- Technical data
# Power consumption 350-1200 W
# Airflow max. 3600 l/min
# Max. vacuum 23000 Pa
# Filter surface area 7800 cm²
# Rubber-insulated mains cable 7,5 m
# Container/Filter bag capacity 45/24 l
# Dimension (LxWxH) 497x472x663 mm
# Max. appliance socket connected load 2400 W
# Weight 16 kg


When using a 110V planex sander on site in the UK with alternative power supply's ranging from Transformer to a generator   Will a 2.2 kVA rated supply be enough? 

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline Peter Halle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 12057
  • Magnum - My new little boy
Re: Best power supply for Planex and vacum?
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2013, 09:06 PM »
Welcome to the FOG!  I hoe that some of our UK members will pipe in.  I hope that the time differences and reply times won't turn you off because we have a great group of Foggers in the UK.

Peter

Offline Kev

  • Posts: 7652
Re: Best power supply for Planex and vacum?
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2013, 10:01 PM »
I don't know the correct answer here, but I do know it's important to consider that start surge and with the sander starting the vac motor, you have both surges simultaneously. May be important to consider.

 [welcome]

Kev.

Offline jmbfestool

  • Posts: 6628
Re: Best power supply for Planex and vacum?
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2013, 03:41 PM »
You have tried for help on this Forum Contractor Talk  

I just checked the replies your received from members!  If I was you I would of told them all the  get lost lol!


You haven't told us what has happened?!   Only asked the question if running it on a 2.2kva supply!   I assume you didnt want same thing happening on this forum lol.


In the UK we dont have 30day money back we have 15 days.    

I cant help you with your question because all my tools (festools) are 240v I dont use 110v.    DeanSocial might help hes 110v

If I was you I would call festool to get replacment OR money back but also at same time ask festool the question.  

What I found with Festool it doesnt like generators!  My Kapex (festool chop saw)  wont even run on a medium size generator only the lasers turn on!   Where as my mates Large Dewalt powered up fine on the same generator.

The planex might be the same but I would assume it just wouldnt work or wouldnt be very powerful!   For it to do the opposite and burn up  I find odd and Festool SHOULD replace it for you.

JMB
« Last Edit: May 14, 2013, 03:52 PM by jmbfestool »
*********************************************************************** [thumbs up]UK members click me
*********************************************************************** [thumbs up]

Offline joiner1970

  • Posts: 3220
Re: Re: Best power supply for Planex and vacum?
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2013, 02:39 AM »
Brett , the kapex not working on a generator could be to do with the variable speed. I've found in the past that tools with variable speed control don't like generators.

Offline GyprocJointer

  • Posts: 5
Re: Best power supply for Planex and vacum?
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2013, 05:49 PM »
Hey jamb,   On the planex sander do you know if the vacuum ac36 is bush operated ?   I have been told by a several generator suppliers that a 20% increase   On the 1700 watts will be enough to run the sander and vacuum...

I have been assured by the supplier of my planex that a 2.2 kVa will be more than enough to run these.. 

Offline Davej

  • Posts: 630
Re: Best power supply for Planex and vacum?
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2013, 06:25 PM »
Not sure about running planex through a generator but a 2.2kva tranny should be fine . I run a ts55r and a 1700 watt chopsaw through a midi with a 3kva tranny with no loss of power or performance .
Dave
I dont mind growing old but i refuse to grow up

Offline Festool USA

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8430
    • Festool USA
Re: Best power supply for Planex and vacum?
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2013, 06:49 PM »
I just received an email from my colleague in the UK. He said that you would need a 5KVa unit to comfortably run both machines. If you need assistance, I can put you in touch with him. Just send me a PM or email and I can provide his contact details for you.

Shane

Offline Deansocial

  • Posts: 2114
Re: Best power supply for Planex and vacum?
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2013, 07:42 AM »
Shane when you say 5kva unit do ou mean the genny or tranny?

I use a 3.3kv tranny for all my gear the most power demanding being the of2200 and midi at same time, it runs just fine, BUT a dry wall sander will be used for much longer so would have thought it may need a transformer capable of that continuos rating not intermitant rating.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2013, 08:13 AM by Deansocial »