Author Topic: Planex Requirement for CT36AC vacuum  (Read 1710 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline landowner

  • Posts: 19
Planex Requirement for CT36AC vacuum
« on: December 24, 2015, 04:01 AM »
I'm thinking of getting a Planex and I'm wondering if getting a dust deputy for my CT26 achieves the same objective of not clogging the vacuum filter as the CT36 AC feature. Having to buy a CT36 to be able to properly use the Planex puts the idea of getting a planex out of reach for me but adding on a dust deputy to my CT26 seems like a practical alternative...
I'd appreciate some guidance on this
« Last Edit: December 24, 2015, 04:04 AM by landowner »

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline Jbmccombe

  • Posts: 43
Re: Planex Requirement for CT36AC vacuum
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2015, 08:38 AM »
Being a cyclone separator the finest material will still pass through the Dust Deputy and into the CT and just clog the filter. 

Offline DB10

  • Posts: 911
Re: Planex Requirement for CT36AC vacuum
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2015, 06:12 PM »
In my experience if your using a Planex and creating fine dust or are cutting concrete and creating fine dust then you really going to need a self cleaning vac, doesn't need to be a Festool vac, but does need to self clean the filters with a loud bang every so often.

Offline chewy

  • Posts: 85
Re: Planex Requirement for CT36AC vacuum
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2015, 05:28 AM »
This is what I don't understand about my 36 ac vac. All I'm using it for is ultra fine sanding dust from an orbital and a belt sander. Surely the fine dust will just clog the bag. I can't understand why fine wood dust would be different to fine concrete dust ? I've had several replies of how using a bag with ac collapses the bag which cleans the dust off, but something in my head still doesn't seem to add up.

Offline Mikey f

  • Posts: 83
Re: Planex Requirement for CT36AC vacuum
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2015, 08:50 AM »
I used my cheap ridgid vac with fine filter bag, hepa filter and my cyclone for  use with my planex. I used it for my entire basement drywall without cleaning it once. I have also used this set up for dry cutting concrete with great results. If ur not doing this day in day out this works well.

Offline Saskataper

  • Posts: 278
Re: Planex Requirement for CT36AC vacuum
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2015, 01:49 PM »


I recently tested out the UDD with my new midi and it's awesome. Virtually no dust got past the deputy. It's a great option for someone like you that already has a CT

Offline Fairmeadow Guy

  • Posts: 1
Re: Planex Requirement for CT36AC vacuum
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2019, 09:59 AM »
Thanks to those who posted on this old thread.  You informed my decision to buy a Planex Easy and hook it up to the Ridgid Shop Vac with Dust Deputy I already owned.  A Powertec 70175 vacuum hose, with included adapters, securely fits both the Planex and the Dust Deputy ports.  This combination has provided a virtually dust-free, ergonomic and reasonably economical solution for drywall sanding, including 9-foot ceilings.