Author Topic: What size hose do you use with your TS55?  (Read 4596 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MavDog

  • Posts: 115
What size hose do you use with your TS55?
« on: July 29, 2010, 05:31 PM »
What size host do you use to connect your CT to your TS55?  I have noticed that dust builds up at the end of the 27mm hose where it connects to the saw since it goes inside the port instead of over it.  Do those that use the bigger hose notice a difference in the dust collection?

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline windmill man

  • Posts: 671
Re: What size hose do you use with your TS55?
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2010, 05:37 PM »
Hi

I use 36mm in the workshop with boom arm, 27mm on site. Yes big difference in extraction.

John

Offline woodguy7

  • Posts: 2727
Re: What size hose do you use with your TS55?
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2010, 05:38 PM »
Always the 27mm.  Bigger hose just two cumbersome to move around.

Woodguy

Edit - but i dont have a boom arm (yet)
If its made of wood, i can make it smaller.
Shirt size medium
p.s- ive started reading these too

Offline Brice Burrell

  • Posts: 7363
  • Remodeling Contractor
    • The Green and Dark Blue blog
Re: What size hose do you use with your TS55?
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2010, 05:45 PM »
With the TS55 I've not noticed any appreciable difference in collection with the D36. With the Kapex and the larger routers it makes a big difference.   
Check out my new blog, The Green and Dark Blue Blog.

Offline windmill man

  • Posts: 671
Re: What size hose do you use with your TS55?
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2010, 05:53 PM »
Hi

36mm , I think is better when cutting MDF but you need a boom arm or similar, as its a bit numb.

John

Offline Tom Bellemare

  • Inactive Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5148
  • Festool demo's & personal service in Central Texas
Re: What size hose do you use with your TS55?
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2010, 06:39 PM »
This video shows the difference in the suction allowed from a CT 22 using a 36mm (gray) hose relative to the 27mm (green & first) hose. Note how the Turbo-Suction Brush speeds up with the big hose. It's air driven.




Tom

Offline WarnerConstCo.

  • Posts: 4076
    • Warner Mill Works
Re: What size hose do you use with your TS55?
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2010, 08:16 PM »
I use what ever hose I have on my CT at the time.

About 50-50 between the 27 and 36 mm.

Cutting edges off doors and narrow rips it does not make much of a difference because the dust collection is not that good to begin with on those cuts.

Offline NuggyBuggy

  • Posts: 419
Re: What size hose do you use with your TS55?
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2010, 02:42 PM »
This video shows the difference in the suction allowed from a CT 22 using a 36mm (gray) hose relative to the 27mm (green & first) hose. Note how the Turbo-Suction Brush speeds up with the big hose. It's air driven.




Tom
Not sure why, but I really couldn't make out what was happening in that video, full screen or otherwise, and  I've got a fast connection at work ?
“I am on a drug. It’s called Charlie Sheen.”

Offline Tom Bellemare

  • Inactive Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5148
  • Festool demo's & personal service in Central Texas
Re: What size hose do you use with your TS55?
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2010, 02:51 PM »
Did you have the sound turned up?

It starts out with a CT 22 turned all the way up, a 27mm hose (green AS), and the Turbo-Suction Brush. It's beater bar is air driven.

You will hear it come up to speed.

I then switch the hose to a 36mm (gray non-AS) with all else the same.

You will hear a dramatic difference in the speed of the Turbo-Suction Brush after it spools up.

That tells me that with a 27mm hose on a CT 22 or CT 33, it is restricting the air flow and you aren't getting full flow from the pump. So, not only is the hose cross section bigger and therefore, less likely to clog, but the air flow is considerably greater.

That was the point.


Tom


EDIT: BTW, there is no difference if the 36mm hose is AS or not. I just used a different color hose for the visual effect.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2010, 02:53 PM by Tom Bellemare »

Offline Chris Meggersee

  • Posts: 387
  • I'm addicted to Festools.
Re: What size hose do you use with your TS55?
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2010, 03:03 PM »
Tom, I think that was a great example, thank you.

I am actually rather shocked at what seems to be a huge difference in sucking power. Making me think maybe I should get a 36mm :/
PS300EQ Jigsaw - OF1010EBQ Router - DF500 Domino - RO125FEQ Sander - C12CE Drill - TS55EBQ Saw - CT22E Dust extractor - DTS400 Sander

Wish List: Anything not listed above in the catalogue.