Author Topic: Note to self...  (Read 2099 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pixelated

  • Posts: 185
Note to self...
« on: November 06, 2016, 09:45 AM »
The dust collection works way better when the vac hose is connected to the tool.

Plug tool into vac outlet, check
Vac set to auto, check
Line up rail on cut, check
Start saw, vacuum comes on, check

Why am i covered with sawdust?...oh
Switch vac to manual, pick up the conveniently unattached hose and clean up the mess.
Sigh  [unsure]

Offline Tinker

  • Posts: 3719
Re: Note to self...
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2016, 09:47 AM »
The dust collection works way better when the vac hose is connected to the tool.

Plug tool into vac outlet, check
Vac set to auto, check
Line up rail on cut, check
Start saw, vacuum comes on, check

Why am i covered with sawdust?...oh
Switch vac to manual, pick up the conveniently unattached hose and clean up the mess.
Sigh  [unsure]

 [eek] [big grin] [big grin] [big grin]
Wayne H. Tinker

Online Peter Halle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 12064
  • Magnum - My new little boy
Re: Note to self...
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2016, 10:04 AM »
I suspect that many more than you and I have been there done that.  One of my favorite memories was when at a Festool Connect event Brent was set up in a demo with the CT not connected.  Brent is a fun loving guy and the show went on.

Peter

Offline RKA

  • Posts: 1785
Re: Note to self...
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2016, 11:22 AM »
You're smarter than I am!  Last night I was plowing out two 3/8" high and 4-5" wide dado, which is generally messy even with duct collection.  I wrote off the mess to only having under table dust collection available.  It wasn't until after I was done and was moving the pile of hoses behind the MFT to clean up my mess that I noticed I forgot to close off the 36mm hose for the fence.  It camoflaged with at least 3 other hose connectors back there.  I have to go back later today to finish.  Odds are 50/50 I'll remember this time.  [tongue]
-Raj

Offline rst

  • Posts: 2264
Re: Note to self...
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2016, 11:32 AM »
I've forgotten to turn on my vac often enough the I have note VAC on painters tape on my chop saw.

Offline jobsworth

  • Posts: 5898
  • Festool Baby.....
Re: Note to self...
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2016, 11:33 AM »
Wait til ya run around the shop cuz your tool isn't working then realised you For to plug in the CT

Offline jmbfestool

  • Posts: 6628
Re: Note to self...
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2016, 04:43 PM »
Note to self never leave plastic bag on CNC bed and cause thousands £££ damage!  luckily still works with out the need to repair but cant handle the fact its damaged so want to fix it but dont want to spend the money but because its working you know there is no point spending but your heart doesnt care and just wants it perfect again. Haaaaaaaaaaaa [crying]
*********************************************************************** [thumbs up]UK members click me
*********************************************************************** [thumbs up]

Offline Untidy Shop

  • Posts: 2745
Re: Note to self...
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2016, 05:11 PM »
Why isn't my ROTEX sanding; what's that black stuff?
Oh! No sanding disc attached!  [eek]

$79 Aust down the DE.  [embarassed]
« Last Edit: November 08, 2016, 05:17 PM by Untidy Shop »
If you don't like Signatures, just go to Look and Layout and tick No Signatures.

“The test of the machine is the satisfaction it gives you. There isn't any other test. If the machine produces tranquility it's right. If it disturbs you it's wrong until either the machine or your mind is changed.”
― Robert M. Pirsig, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance: An Inquiry Into Values

Offline Tinker

  • Posts: 3719
Re: Note to self...
« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2016, 08:25 PM »
I measured 6 feet and then added the extra 6inches and made my mark and cut my last piece of Walnut at the 6 foot mark.
Tinker
Wayne H. Tinker

Offline jmbfestool

  • Posts: 6628
Re: Note to self...
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2016, 03:27 AM »
Why isn't my ROTEX sanding; what's that black stuff?
Oh! No sanding disc attached!  [eek]

$79 Aust down the DE.  [embarassed]


Done that before lol!!

And my dad had to do it again when he borrowed my rotex.
*********************************************************************** [thumbs up]UK members click me
*********************************************************************** [thumbs up]