Author Topic: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!  (Read 13159 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline live4ever

  • Posts: 823
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #60 on: February 17, 2019, 11:11 PM »
Great job getting it off the pallet!  I'm going to use your method when I get this bad boy...only been lusting after it for years. 
Current systainer to productivity ratio:  very high

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Online Alanbach

  • Posts: 389
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #61 on: February 17, 2019, 11:13 PM »
I agree with egmiii regarding duct size. If possible use your 4 to 5” reducer at the DC and use 5” ducting to the machine. I think that you will be pleased with that performance. Better yet, I had Oneida make me a custom flange for my Jet jointer so that I could have 5” all the way. You might contact Oneida to see if they already have the pattern necessary to make one for your DC. Mine was quite reasonable and greatly improved performance from the 4”. Also use as much straight pipe and long radius 90’s as possible and minimize the use of flex duct as much as possible. Again, I think that you will be pleased with the performance difference. You would be shocked as to the difference in the cfm loss between the two.

Online deepcreek

  • Posts: 829
    • TimberFire Studio
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #62 on: February 17, 2019, 11:15 PM »
And waiting on Amazing for a 5" to 4" coupler thingy.

@mattbyington

My portable Oneida Dust Gorilla has a 5" hose with a 4" connector on the end so I can use it on my various stationary tools.

This fitting from Rockler worked perfectly to convert my Minimax JP.  I bought two and put one on each dust port (jointer & planer).

https://www.rockler.com/rockler-schedule-40-pvc-to-4-hose-adapter

The Minimax dust ports are 120mm (4.72") so the true 5" fittings are too large.  I think Felder/Hammer may be the same.
Joe Adams
TimberFire Studio
Houston, Texas

http://www.facebook.com/timberfire

Offline mattbyington

  • Posts: 334
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #63 on: February 18, 2019, 08:35 AM »
Thanks so much for the replies everyone! This forum is such a wealth of knowledge.

I have to admit I think I'm going to try it with the 4" just because that's what I have already and I jus can't stand to wait any longer!

But... that at least allows me to compare it with a 5" run to compare them ;)

Lots of stuff coming in today (small stuff like adaptors and power cable and stuff) so should hopefully have pics of it working in a day or two!!

Matt

Online Alanbach

  • Posts: 389
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #64 on: February 18, 2019, 03:54 PM »
@mattbyington - Very exciting stuff! Can’t wait to hear how you like it. Does your A3 run off 220V and is it 20amp or 30 amp?

Offline egmiii

  • Posts: 138
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #65 on: February 18, 2019, 11:21 PM »
The A3-31 is 240 volt 30 amp per Felder USA. Felder in Austria says 20 amp. There are one or two cases where people installed 12ga wire and a 20 amp breaker, who then had to rip it out of finished walls and start over. But there are tons who never had an issue with the same wiring (myself included while doing a temporary shop in the garage). My advice, save yourself the trouble and run 10ga wire and a 30amp breaker. Not worth rolling the dice.

Offline tjbnwi

  • Posts: 6066
  • Cedar Tucky Indiana
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #66 on: February 18, 2019, 11:42 PM »
@mattbyington
 
Is that an old Blue Bird knock down Port-A-Crane?

Tom

Offline RKA

  • Posts: 1715
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #67 on: February 19, 2019, 09:54 AM »
@mattbyington
 
Is that an old Blue Bird knock down Port-A-Crane?

Tom

It sure looks like it!  I've been looking for something like that, but they are surprisingly expensive or hard to find.  ICF now makes it.  Another company offers a $1400 knock off.  Other options don't really break down easily to move between my garage and basement shop.
-Raj

Offline RobBob

  • Posts: 1378
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #68 on: February 19, 2019, 10:25 AM »
I have one of these that I have used much more than I thought I would.  Works fine.  No issues.
Folds up into a small footprint that sits in a corner until needed.

2 ton shop crane

Offline mattbyington

  • Posts: 334
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #69 on: February 19, 2019, 11:41 AM »
@Alanbach I think @egmiii already answered :) but yeah I'm actually running a full 50 amp line to it, from a wire size standpoint (6 gauge) but then using a 40 amp breaker.

Actually I should send you guys pictures of that if I didn't already - the breaker at the main service panel is 40 amp but I want to install either a 20 or 30 amp in the smaller panel I wired and installed specifically to run the Festool stuff + this jointer off of.

@tjbnwi no idea..I just rented it. But it looks like @RobBob knows of something similar.

And alas, the dust shrouds I ordered don't fit :(

Last night I ordered one from Oneida and also the one from Felder.. both on next day air shipping.

So hold tight a day more!

Matt

Offline rvieceli

  • Posts: 1043
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #70 on: February 19, 2019, 01:39 PM »
@mattbyington you might want to take a look at your local big box store in the plumbing section for Fernco couplings. They are rubber and stretch a little. Lowe’s Home Depot

https://m.lowes.com/search?searchTerm=fernco+coupling

Ron

Online Alanbach

  • Posts: 389
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #71 on: February 19, 2019, 04:24 PM »
Ok, so if I understand it correctly you have a double pole 40 amp breaker in you your main panel feeding this sub panel in your shop. The only thing about that is that it looks like you have one double pole (220V) 50 amp breaker in your sub panel. I’m no electrician but that’s probably not cool??? The good news is that it sounds like you are going to use that 50 amp double pole breaker in the sub panel to only feed your new combo machine and it only requires a 30 amp circuit. So it is probably not code compliant but in practical use it probably won’t pop your 40 amp breaker that feeds this sub panel. I’m no electrician but I do know there are some very knowledgeable guys on this forum including some electricians that you could probably ask.

Are you planning on running a circuit out of that sub panel to your new machine with a receptacle near the machine or are you just going to make up a power cord to run from you new machine into the closet where you have the dc and this sub Panel? How far is it from that sub panel to where you are going to place your new machine?

Online Alanbach

  • Posts: 389
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #72 on: February 19, 2019, 04:36 PM »
Also, I used a fitting like the one rvieceli described when I converted the 4” outlet on my Sawstop (via a 4” to 5” reducer) to my 5” ducting for my dust collection. Here is a pic.

Offline Mike Goetzke

  • Posts: 318
Re: Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #73 on: February 19, 2019, 04:39 PM »
Well team, got the new dust collector setup this morning finally (had been sitting in the garage for 2 weeks, holiday time w/ family et cetera).

The clear hose from Rockler was delayed (backordered) and should come in a week or so. But I got it hooked up.

Having a beer to work up the courage to cut a 4" hole in the wall downstairs :) to use Rockler's through-wall dust port.

I decided to mount this in the closet area of the garage - and run hose through the wall right to the machine.

I'll post some more pics sometime that make it more clear.

Matt

(Attachment Link)

Very nice Hammer and nice clean shop to put it in!

Just a word of warning - you will probably fill that dust collection bag in a matter of minutes with that machine.

Mike

Online Alanbach

  • Posts: 389
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #74 on: February 19, 2019, 04:46 PM »
I have another question regarding your process for unpacking your A3. Was the slot between the legs sufficiently deep to allow you to use your sled to lower it right down onto the new mobile base (once you had it up in the air and completely disconnected from the shipping pallet) and then just slide out the sled or was it more involved than that?

Offline egmiii

  • Posts: 138
Re: Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #75 on: February 19, 2019, 05:29 PM »
Well team, got the new dust collector setup this morning finally (had been sitting in the garage for 2 weeks, holiday time w/ family et cetera).

The clear hose from Rockler was delayed (backordered) and should come in a week or so. But I got it hooked up.

Having a beer to work up the courage to cut a 4" hole in the wall downstairs :) to use Rockler's through-wall dust port.

I decided to mount this in the closet area of the garage - and run hose through the wall right to the machine.

I'll post some more pics sometime that make it more clear.

Matt

(Attachment Link)

Very nice Hammer and nice clean shop to put it in!

Just a word of warning - you will probably fill that dust collection bag in a matter of minutes with that machine.

Mike

I thought the same thing regarding the size of the dust bag. I could fill it in about 5 minutes.

Online deepcreek

  • Posts: 829
    • TimberFire Studio
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #76 on: February 20, 2019, 12:49 AM »
Joe Adams
TimberFire Studio
Houston, Texas

http://www.facebook.com/timberfire

Offline derekcohen

  • Posts: 333
    • In The Woodshop
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #77 on: February 21, 2019, 07:02 PM »
Thanks so much for the replies everyone! This forum is such a wealth of knowledge.

I have to admit I think I'm going to try it with the 4" just because that's what I have already and I jus can't stand to wait any longer!

But... that at least allows me to compare it with a 5" run to compare them ;)

Lots of stuff coming in today (small stuff like adaptors and power cable and stuff) so should hopefully have pics of it working in a day or two!!

Matt

Matt, going from 4" to 5" hose will double the dust extraction! I started on 4", was amazed at the better efficiency with 5", and plan ti move up to 6" (which requires new out ports).

My A3-31 runs happily on 15A. As does my K3. However the N4400 bandsaw needs 20A. As with ALL these machines, Felder advise that the start button must be held down until the motor is running. Never simply jab it to start. That will burn out the start capacitor.

Regards from Perth

Derek

Offline mattbyington

  • Posts: 334
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #78 on: February 21, 2019, 11:24 PM »
Thanks everyone for the replies!

I powered it up last night. She purrs like a kitten.

I'm going to hit up Lowe's shortly to see if I can find that one @rvieceli

@Alanbach that's not a problem at all - electricity-wise, the smallest breaker will always break first. You could also have a 1,000 amp breaker connected to the line and that would be fine, as an extreme example - so my breaker size is 30A (the one in the sub panel I installed).

I probably could change it to 20A and be a little safer, but since my wiring is rated for 40A, it's totally fine.

@deepcreek I saw that one too! I want to order it but it'll take so long to get here. I hope I find one at Lowe's. If not I'll go to Rockler Saturday - the closest one is 1.5 hours away from me though.

@derekcohen thanks...I'll have to look into that.

And I know the bag will fill quickly. I'll figure something else out. Just want to try it for now.

Matt

Online Alanbach

  • Posts: 389
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #79 on: February 21, 2019, 11:57 PM »
Cool, I’m glad to hear that! When I looked at the picture you posted of your sub panel the only double pole breaker that I saw was a 50 amp. I’m glad that you changed it out. Glad to hear that it is up, running and purring!

Offline RKA

  • Posts: 1715
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #80 on: February 22, 2019, 10:37 AM »
@mattbyington If you don't find it in Lowes, HD should have it.  I *believe* the one below is what you will need.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/4-in-Clay-x-4-in-DWV-Flexible-PVC-Coupling-P1002-44/100372311
-Raj

Offline mattbyington

  • Posts: 334
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #81 on: February 22, 2019, 10:59 PM »
Thank you @RKA !

I found something crappy but semi workable at Lowe’s and finally ran a board through !


I’ll post pics tomorrow. It came out with a beautiful finish but there was some snipe. It is more than likely my technique - this is my first jointer. Anyone have any tips?

I’ll send pic tomorrow!

And no, the bag isn’t quite full yet ;)

Offline RobBob

  • Posts: 1378
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #82 on: February 22, 2019, 11:46 PM »
Thank you @RKA !

I found something crappy but semi workable at Lowe’s and finally ran a board through !


I’ll post pics tomorrow. It came out with a beautiful finish but there was some snipe. It is more than likely my technique - this is my first jointer. Anyone have any tips?

I’ll send pic tomorrow!

And no, the bag isn’t quite full yet ;)

Yes, look at my post (reply #49) above and listen to the podcast beginning at 17:00. 

The way the machine is setup from the factory will give you a little snipe.  The outfeed table is set slightly lower than the cutterhead.  See page 33 of the manual, top of the page - "8.3 Adjusting the joint." 

The outfeed table is easily adjusted to be even with the cutterhead, thus eliminating snipe.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2019, 12:02 AM by RobBob »

Online Alanbach

  • Posts: 389
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #83 on: February 23, 2019, 12:03 AM »
So for me proper jointing technique involves two foam bottomed push paddles and a smooth consistent forward motion with strong steady downward pressure against the bed. You position your feet comfortably in front of the machine keeping in mind where you are going, not just where you start. Then with your dominant hand in the rear position use the front hand to insure contact with the fence and the bed below. Use the back hand to push the board forward while maintaining enough downward pressure to keep uniform contact with the bed. Just before your front hand reaches the blade area lift it slightly off the board while continuing a steady pace forward. Now place that front hand back down on the board just past the blade area. Now, as your rear hand reaches the cutting area slide it back a foot or so and then as you rengage contact move that front hand back and maintain your steady movement forward. Keep doing that back and forth Until you are near the end of the board. So the end goal is uniform pressure support of the board on both sides of the cutter head while providing a nice consistent feed rate with no stopping if possible. When you get to the end of the board (the last foot or so) move the back hand to the outbound side of the blade and leave the front hand where it was. Now maintain feed rate and focus on nice solid contact with the bed from both hands until the board is completely through the cutter head. The key to jointing is keeping that board in great contact with that nice big flat bed, especially at the beginning and at the end. It takes some practice but you will get it.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2019, 12:25 AM by Alanbach »

Online Lincoln

  • Posts: 27
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #84 on: February 23, 2019, 01:31 AM »
You want to make sure the board is sitting 'naturally' on the bed, ie if it has a bow, don't push that bow down to contact the bed, otherwise you'll never actually straighten the board. The main objective of the planer is to give a dead straight face, and edge, to reference off when it comes time to thickness plane. Pressure in the wrong spot/s will give you a nice clean board, but not a straight one.
Always plane with the 'bow up' - the ends touching the bed, gap in the middle. Not middle touching, ends in the air.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2019, 01:34 AM by Lincoln »

Offline mattbyington

  • Posts: 334
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #85 on: February 23, 2019, 03:26 PM »
Thanks everyone! I am trying to adjust it now - so with the ruler trick, when turning cutter manually, I want it to JUST touch the carbide blade but NOT move the ruler. Is that right

Offline mattbyington

  • Posts: 334
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #86 on: February 23, 2019, 03:35 PM »
This is what I mean:

It seems it's already really close, but moving the ruler maybe 1-2 mm.


Offline blaszcsj

  • Posts: 457
  • I like building stuff with my hands.
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #87 on: February 23, 2019, 08:24 PM »
@mattbyington it should just glaze it. Just make sure it pulls the ruler not lift it.

This is what I mean:

It seems it's already really close, but moving the ruler maybe 1-2 mm.

(Attachment Link)
OF1010 EQ Router | MFT/3 | DF500Q | Carvex 420 | ETS EC 150/3 | CT 36 Auto Clean | TSC55 | LR32 | OF1400 EQ Router | ZOBO Metric Set | CXS Li 2.6 - 90 Limited Edition | Universal Cleaning Set | HKC55 | Centrotec CE-SORT | RO150 FEQ | DTS 400 | RO90 DX | CTSYS | C18 Drill | SysLite KALII | Syslite STL 450 | RAS 115 E | OF2200 EB

Offline RobBob

  • Posts: 1378
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #88 on: February 23, 2019, 09:22 PM »
This video was just posted by Jay Bates.  Nothing new really, but you might find parts of it interesting.


Offline mattbyington

  • Posts: 334
Re: (It's here!) Just ordered a Hammer A331!
« Reply #89 on: February 24, 2019, 10:38 AM »
I know I watched that as soon as it came out :)

Unfortunately no real technical help.

@RobBob I listened to the podcast - that’s exactly what I need to do. You’re right.

The manual isn’t very clear though. Anyone know of any pictures or video on the adjustment itself ?